5 Wicked traits about Curvy/’Waspy’ figures


kitty-kat

*[image credits at the bottom] – I just love this girl’s figure in her video for Kitty Kat, which is probably my favourite song of hers. By the way, when I say ‘waspy’, I don’t mean stick-thin but more on the curvier side of slim.

  1. 1. Shape: I love how sleek ‘waspy’ figures look. I appreciate the belt she has on here makes her look more ‘waspy’ and ‘curvy’.

2. Height: I how tall girls like Keri Hilson use their height to make them stand out. Because I am 5’6”, I just like that smaller look because I think it makes me look taller.

3. mad-men-joanColour: The image below is of Christina Hendricks, who plays Joan Holloway in cult hit TV prog Mad Men. She is a curvy girl and she always looks really good. In fact, in this screen cap, the red dress she is wearing, I am going to try and find a tailor/seamstress to make me a dress in that high-cut style. I love it and I will hopefully get it done. I already have fabric which is a Tanzanian kanga that is fuschia-pink.

4. Silhouette: I think the silhouette of a woman is what really makes a woman look enticing/alluring/attractive. I am not talking about from a men’s point of view but just in general. As long as everything in proportion, from your outline, you are a smoking hot Waspy girl in my eyes! Like Miss Dorothy Dandridge below:

dorothy-dandridge

5. Impact: For a photo taken in 1954, this is quite risque but I love it! We as women of colour and women in general have come a long way in certain sections of the world to a point where we can embrace our sexuality and our bodies.

The idea that a woman and her body are responsible for how men react to them is ludicrous and fucking stupid in my eyes. Instead, I like to think of it like by celebrating curvy figures as well as thin catwalky ones, we are taking the responsibility of our self-esteem back.

I do want to lose weight, yes. But only so I can retain my curvy figure. Not conform to an idea of how I am supposed to look as a woman. At the end of the day, we need to figure out how to not put our bodies in a box.

[Image credits: Beyonce Kitty Kat still – Corner of Beyonce/Mad Men still of Joan Holloway – I did that!/Dorothy Dandrige]

4 thoughts on “5 Wicked traits about Curvy/’Waspy’ figures

  1. Aulelia I didn’t know you wre curvy, by looking at your pictures I couldn’t tell.

    It goes both ways. Women are generally after the tall strong male. I am not sure the bald shawty will get some love anytime soon. we are just as diverse lol!

    black women or all women for that matter celebrate their curves outside of the photoshopped world. black women are curvy , our magazines smooth , king etc.. celebrate those curves.

  2. “The idea that a woman and her body are responsible for how men react to them is ludicrous and fucking stupid in my eyes. Instead, I like to think of it like by celebrating curvy figures as well as thin catwalky ones, we are taking the responsibility of our self-esteem back.”

    Agreed.

Leave a comment