The hair extension industry in Tanzania is exploding


I popped into my local shop near the office in Mikocheni and when I went to pay for my goods at the till, I noticed the reams and reams of hair extensions by Darling and other brands that were on sale so I took this picture quickly:

DSC02620

This is just the local shop at the petrol station near work and yet it was packed with hair extensions. A local line called Kidoti which is headed up by model/VJ Jokate Mwegelo was being promoted/flogged for a while but I don’t hear much about it anymore. I have noticed in many markets in Dar-es-Salaam that the hair extension industry is just growing and growing with a wide range of colours and hair types especially with Chinese company NOBLE Hair which is just working so freaking hard to ram as many hair extension products into the Tanzanian market but I can’t even pretend, their products are cheap and the quality is not bad for the price.

What does this mean for the Tanzania beauty market?

It means women in Tanzania and Dar-es-Salaam probably want more and more choice as opposed to less choice. This means that there could be opportunities for local entrepreneurs to come up with lots of brand new ideas for hair products. There is no reason why there can’t be any local brands that are cheap, affordable and appeal to the market – the hair extension industry will continue to grow and target many Tanzanian women who want to protect their natural hair or women who want braids and cornrows for style reasons.

What do you think about the rise of hair extensions in Africa?

2 thoughts on “The hair extension industry in Tanzania is exploding

  1. I think it may be good for business but it’s also sadly a reflection of more black women’s reluctance to embrace their own God-given hair, learn to take care of it and nurture it; appreciating it for what it is.

    Although some could argue extensions of offer choice, versatility and allow for the occasional changing up of things; I would argue that all too often many resort to it following a rejection of their own hair.

    • Hi Kay, thanks so much for your comment. I think hair extensions are cool for giving women more choice, I’m natural but hair extensions can protect my curls too. I think there is a space for them.

Leave a Reply

