Exclusive: Beauty mogul Ariana Pierce reveals how she created a beauty empire


Ariana Pierce is not your ordinary entrepreneur. This charismatic African-American business woman has made the beauty industry sit up and take notice with her own nail varnish brand called Superstar Nail Lacquer. I first heard of Ariana when I watched a video of her on Black Enterprise and I was captivated about how she started her nail varnish company which is growing from strength to strength. In this exclusive interview with Charcoal Ink, Ariana reveals what it is like creating your own beauty brand.

1) How did you spot a gap in the market for Superstar Nail Lacquer?

I saw a need for polish that matched the runways. I wanted to create a couture line for your hands. I also was going into my freshman year at Michigan State University and I knew that girls had busy schedules and needed to get back to class on time. I wanted my polish to be fast-drying, something perfect for the woman on the go.

2) How did you go about branding Superstar Nail Lacquer with aspects such as packaging and logos?

The concept behind Superstar Nail Lacquer is making every woman feel like a celebrity. Hence the name Superstar Nail lacquer. The packaging/Logo is very fashionable, bright, and eye-catching. I wanted to deliver luxury in a bottle.

3) Where are the products made?

Various places. It really depends on the color/collection.

4) How many staff do you have and what are their responsibilities?

I have a team of people who help me. Some are interns, some are employees. Their responsibilities range from logistics to marketing.

5) What is your dream for Superstar Nail Lacquer?

To become a well known global brand. To be more than a nail polish brand but a culture of fashionable girls who rock couture on their hands.

6) Who are your business role models and why?

My mother, Dr. Stacia Pierce, is a huge influence in my life. She is known across the nation for her business and marketing skills. What I love about her is that she makes me work and get creative with my business. She helps me, but pushes me to be a success on my own.

7) What are your thoughts on the beauty trends for 2012?

I’m seeing a lot of the stiletto nails and caviar nails. If you follow my Instagram pages, @aritheheiress & @Styleshoppe, I give nail inspiration on cool and fashionable designs. Nail art is really big right now, and Superstar Nail Lacquer is on the forefront of that trend.

8) Have you considered taking Superstar Nail Lacquer outside of the US and if so, what countries
would you like to get into?

Of course I would. I would love to see it in many countries. Our polish is pretty popular in places like Russia, Poland, and London. I had the opportunity to study marketing in business in various places in Europe this school year. I believe that helped and will continue to help me as I expand the brand.

9) What are the most popular products for Superstar Nail Lacquer bought by customers?

Omg! Everyone LOVES Rising Star Razzberry. It is the most popular color. One fan posted a picture on Pinterest of the polish and it received over 6,000 repins. I mean, we can’t keep that color on the shelves.

10) If you could run one other business, what would it be and why? (Mine would be Coca-Cola so I could know
the secret recipe!)

LOL! I would love to run Starbucks! I am in love with their marketing and company culture. I draw inspiration from various companies and Starbucks is definitely one of them.

11) What is the hardest thing about starting a business?

The hardest part can be getting people to trust and believe in your brand. You have to establish yourself as the authority and let the world know you are here to stay.

12) What can we expect from you in 2012?

You will see Superstar Nail Lacquer on more runways, in magazines, and I am pursuing more stores. I am graduating May 5th from Michigan State University, so I am ready to take my company to a new level and use what I’ve learned to expand the brand.

What do you think? Ariana Pierce is definitely destined for big things. Check out all you need to know about Superstar Nail Lacquer and follow Ariana on Twitter here. Ariana’s company is also on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

