Taking a Leap of Faith: I’m Finally Out


For those of you following me on my journey “Taking a Leap of Faith” you know that about 9 months ago I had planned to save and relocate to Georgia. Well let me be the first to tell you that I’ve finally reached my destination and couldn’t be any happier!!

It was a long 12 hour drive to my destination but well worth it. I am happy with the outcome of everything at this point and I am truly blessed to make it this far. All the support I received from friends, family, Aulelia and all you has been so great. My apartment is beautiful, spacious and is more than I ever expected. So let me update everyone on what’s going on so far.

Moving Money Fund

My fund goal for moving was to at least reach $5000 and the end result was that I wasn’t able to reach that amount. I actually was $500 off from my goal making my moving total $4500 and I don’t think that’s too bad. I worked my butt off working two jobs for the last nine month so I think I did pretty well.

The Actual Move

I rented a moving truck and a pulley (for my car) and drove at least 12hrs. Joining me on my move I brought my mother and my cousin. My cousin left 2 days after helping me move my items in my apt and my mother stayed with me for a week and a half. My mother being a interior decorator helped decorate my whole apartment and I have to say it’s beautiful. Just the fact that apartment is so nicely decorated is motivation to get on grind to find me a job.

Job Hunt

For the last week my mother has been with me so most my time was mostly spent with her. My mother actually left this past Thursday and now that she’s gone I can focus on my job hunt. I did get an email from a company that I applied to saying that I may be a possible candidate for a job. Although I am a possible candidate I am not guaranteed that job so I am still on my job hunt. My goal is to find a full-time job particularly in communication, media or broadcasting. But at this moment I’ll take whatever I can for the time being. My ultimate goal is to find a job within 3- 4 weeks, which would be great because that means I wouldn’t have to completely live off the money I saved.

All in all I am happy with my decision to move here. I love the city, I love the fact that theirs so much to do, and I think Atlanta is pretty much natural hair capital.

2 thoughts on “Taking a Leap of Faith: I’m Finally Out

Leave a Reply

