Business Notes: Re-assessing my performance this week


This is a strange post to write because this week, I did cold-calling for the first time in a long time. I am one of those people who can cold-call under pressure. I know how critical it is to cold-call businesses so I can make money but I still have the fear of God in my heart when I have to do it.

Case Study

On Wednesday, I called a consumer products company that sells beauty products. They are based in London. I was keen to see if they could use my services (copywriting/direct marketing). At first, I could feel like I was not going to call because I was nervous. I just called because I know time is running out and I just have to call in order to make the money I want.

I called them and they put me through to the marketing contact. Turns out, I may have called at the right time as there were potential outsourced opportunities available. I emailed them with a follow up email and I will call them again next week to see if I can nail them as a new client.

What I learned from this call?

If I hadn’t called, I would not have learned that there was an opportunity there. Granted, they may not want me in the end and I may not get them but the phone call was the first step. Now they know I exist.

I suppose what I learned from this phone call is by making cold calls, you give them the chance to know who you are.

What needs to be done now?

I have to make more calls today and I still feel nervous and that weird feeling of dread. But what if I am missing out on a new deal?

2 thoughts on “Business Notes: Re-assessing my performance this week

  1. Your such a go-getter!! See what happens when you call so what if you don’t get through it’s all about trying. I’m sure you’ll get new clients.

    • Thanks for your kind words, M! I followed up with them and they said they would get back to me if they need any work. I will follow up ha ha!

Leave a Reply

