Taking a Leap of Faith


If you’ve been keeping up with the blog you might have noticed I haven’t been posting as much lately, and that’s mainly due to me working a lot. I am currently working two jobs, a full-time job at an Engineering company and a part-time job in Human Resources which are totally different from each other. It’s been really hard trying to work, write for the blog, work on my creative projects and keep my sanity. The reason I’ve been working so much is because I plan to relocate in October to a different state.

My goal to relocate in October has been my main focus and in order to do that I have to reach my moving fund goal. Relocating for me is really a big deal because I’m moving to a bigger city where I only know a few people. On top of that I plan to move regardless if I find job before I leave. So I have to make sure that I’m financially secure for a couple of months until I’m able to find work.

So why am I’m taking this big risk? I’ll fill you in …

  • I’ll be 25 in January and my goal was to be out of mothers home before my birthday. Yes I’ve been able to save money by staying here, but I feel it’s time to move on and be on my own.
  • I’m really not happy in my current situation period, don’t get me wrong it’s not like things are really bad because they could be a lot worse, but I know I could be doing a lot better, and I feel this place doesn’t give me the opportunity to do so.
  • I feel like with my degree in Media & Communication I’ll have a better chance to find work in my field in a bigger city. For the last 2 years since I’ve graduated I’ve been working at jobs that are not in my field at all. It’s been a great learning experience but I’m ready to do something that makes me happy.
  • I’m ready to experience something new! I’m 24 I have no kids, no commitments, I have a degree, it’s time to spread my wings and just go.

I’ve gotten mixed responses from my friends about me relocating. Some think I’m crazy to move without having a job and move to a city where I hardly know anyone. I can care less, I am confident I’ll find job and I’m sure I’ll meet new people. If I can live in England for half a year I’m sure I’ll be fine.

I’m curious to hear what you all think about me moving. Would you take the risk and relocate to a big city without having a job in place first? Or do you think sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith?

19 thoughts on “Taking a Leap of Faith

  1. Pingback: Taking a Leap of Faith: I Got a Job!! « Charcoal Ink

        • Harnew let me tell you if you need to anything and I mean anything about HR l’ve been through it all! From interviewing crazy folks, to people giving me wrinkled resume letters.

          As far as a resume most like the resume to be on one page, I know it sucks but most of them don’t want to deal with a second page they just want that one page. So make sure you put whatever is relevant as far your “job experience” to the job your applying for on the one page. I’ve had to tweek my resume so many times to fit everything on one page and I always make sure it’s relevant to the job I’m applying for.

          • That first paragraph is why I want to talk to you.

            As far as the second goes, I’m not looking for help with a actual resume.

            I developed something that will reduce the resume to steppingstone. So, I guess what I really wanted to know was your company a company that was forward thinking and innovative and valued culture.

            • I would have to say it’s not that innovative at all. The company pretty much sticks to what it knows and works for them. Forward thinking is also a no. They try to make attempts at it but 50% of the time it doesn’t work in their favor.

              • Wish I could show you what I’m referring to so I could get feedback on it.

                What about you? Do you plan on starting your own business in the future? Will it be innovative and forward-thinking?

                • I would like to no more about what your referring to if you don’t mind I’ll email you my reply it’s just easier.

                  • Yeah because I don’t want to have a conversation in your comment section. Furthermore, the right sidebar is truncating the words.

  2. I have a media degree. I studied media at college and then at university only to not d anything media related which frustrates me. I am not in a position to move bit I wish you all the best and just go for it.

    I blog to make up for the fact I am not working in media.

    I am sure you will be fine

    • I completely understand that’s the same reason I blog also. It really sucks to pay that money to go to school and not have a job in our field. My question for you is, what field are you in now? And if you could choose your dream job what would it be?

  3. Take a big leaf of faith. Waste no time planning. Just do. State your objective and attack it like a animal. Same thing I went through with Vegas in my face. Make every outcome work in your favor. It’s like you’re the girl me because ALL four of your things relates to me. It’s a reason you’re feeling like this. I know you wrote it but read it again and get motivated. Don’t worry about the blog. It’ll be here. If you can try to post once a day to keep me updated.

    • I’m actually not from Memphis that’s just my nickname I’m from Ohio actually. As far as moving I’ve been planning since the day i decided I was moving. Did you relocate? And if so do you have any tips?

Leave a Reply

