Business Notes: When heartbreak sets in


Yesterday, my boyfriend of 5 months dumped me. It’s been a sad and painful few days because he told me he wanted to go on a break on Saturday and yesterday, he said he didn’t want a break but a break-up. Before he said this, I told him how I wanted to give us a second try because I think everything deserves a second chance. He divulged that he was having doubts about the relationship and he felt like he did not love me romantically anymore.

To say I am crushed is an understatement. I did not see this coming. He gave me the impression that everything was fine and that we were very much in love with each other. Just a fortnight ago, he gave me flowers when he came back from travelling and told me how much he cared about me and was happy to be back in Tanzania. I really thought we were going to explore lots more of each other.

I feel betrayed and like the trust is broken because I had no idea that he had doubts, and it only came out 5 days ago when he told me he wanted a break. I don’t beg for any man but I did tell him yesterday that I hoped we could work it out because I am not a quitter and I definitely thought the relationship had wings because I had/have strong feelings for him.

To be told that your boyfriend has fallen out of love with you is truly devastating.

As I wake up this morning, I feel like I am going to struggle to do my work when I know now is the time to throw myself into my work. It’s very hard to even concentrate on copywriting and making cold calls when all I want is the relationship to be the way it was.

How do you think about work when you are heartbroken?

6 thoughts on “Business Notes: When heartbreak sets in

  1. Don’t avoid the pain. Work through it. But don’t sit around wallowing in the pain either. Force yourself to be busy so that you don’t wallow. No one likes pain, but it’s better to work through it rather than avoid it because while you won’t know it at the time, it DOES get better.

  2. I’m sorry that your going through this I can definitely relate. Yes you’ll be sad but you’ll definitely get through it. As far as concentrating on work that’s actually what helps me get through my heartbreaks. I find that the more I’m focused on my work the less I’m thinking about that person. If it’s meant for you two to be then it’ll happen.

Leave a Reply

