Can you ever be too aggressive?: 3 examples of whether persistence is bad for business or not


One reason I have not commented on Oprah’s farewell show is because this is not the end, it is the beginning for her. Such an inspirational woman, she has truly defined a golden age in media. I have been doing a lot of thinking about how I am trying to build my business and whether being too or not being aggressive enough is a deciding factor in success. The fact that Oprah is building her own network shows that she is using aggressive and determined vision to reach her dreams.

Let’s look at three examples of things that have happened to me where I have tried to implement some sort of sales strategy. Tell me if you think I was too aggressive:

[1] Client: Media brand
Me: I contacted them hoping to write something for them. I was persistent, however I think I may have annoyed them by following up too often. I just was so excited and happy to be considered. Now I don’t know what’s happening or if my piece will go in.

[2] Client: Health therapist
Me: I contacted this lead through a cold email. They seemed really interested in signing me to do a small commission of writing blog articles. I followed up at least 3 three times within time spans of a few weeks, then heard absolutely nothing.

[3] Client: Health product company
Me: Another lead I found through a cold email. Seemed keen to get marketing services started, then went completely silent and ignored persistent follow up emails.

My thoughts: I am most disappointed about example #1; I really wanted this to work out because I think it would have been a cornerstone of my career and could have lead to other opportunities. Unfortunately, I don’t know whether it will pan out or not because I don’t want to email them again out of fear of being too persistent. At the same time, I am trying to run and build a business. I landed all of my repeat business clients through cold campaigns – i.e through a cold email where I found them and offered my services.

I think there is a fine line between being annoying and persistent and I want to be persistent, not annoying.

Do you think you are too persistent in your work life? Is being persistent a bad thing? Let me know all about it!

4 thoughts on “Can you ever be too aggressive?: 3 examples of whether persistence is bad for business or not

  1. I agree I don’t think you were to persistent at all, but I do think companies get annoyed. I also think its unprofessional for them not to respond back to you. I really hope it works out.

    • I basically respond to virtually everything now – and I am making a habit of responding to even the most mundane emails because that’s what I would want too.

  2. In my opinion I don’t think that you were too aggressive. A lot of companies nowadays are being picky and not responding to inquires. It makes the companies look bad but if you contact them once and stop it could give the impression that you really don’t care.

    • Thanks for your reply! I know what you mean like if you contact them once, I have fallen into this trap before when I was not employing a hugely aggressive sales strategy.

Leave a Reply

