The Benefits of Locs


[photo source]

Many people think that Locs are the easy way out when it comes to natural hair because your hair is simply in one style, but that’s not true at all. Locs take a lot of maintenance especially if you want your hair looking good and for it to be healthy as well. Although locs fool people into thinking there an easy solution to a natural hairstyle lets talk about the benefits of locs.

1. Growth – Because the hair is not being manipulated as much the hair has a chance to grow, which is why I believe people with locs hair tends to grow faster. Now there is nothing wrong with rocking short locs ( I love those also) but if you’re looking for hang time locs are the way to go.

2. Retouching – With locs it seems like you don’t have to retouch (washing and re-twisting the roots) the hair as often. From the research I’ve done it seems on the average people retouch their hair monthly instead of every other week. Which I think is lovely! I wear my hair mainly twisted and I have to re-twist my hair at least every two-weeks.

3. Styling –  A lot of people again think that locs are just one style but that is so not true! There are so many ways you can dress up locs … curly, straight, zig-zag, buns and whole lot more if you don’t believe me visit Franchesca or Le Coil to see what I’m talking about.

4. Get up and Go! – I think locs are an easy solution when it comes to the type of lifestyle you live. For instance, I think locs are great for people who are constantly on the go because they can be easily pulled back and on your way you go. Now as I mentioned before just because you can easily pull this style back does not mean you don’t have to maintain it. Just like any hair locs can break off and become dry they need love too!

I’m no expert when it comes to locs but these are reasons why I would loc. If you would like to add-on why locs are beneficial please comment and share.

6 thoughts on “The Benefits of Locs

  1. Thanks for this article. I do want to get locs one day, but like Memphiz, I like wearing my hair out now and then. It’s still nice to have more info about locs and the photo is beautiful.

    • Thanks for commenting happy you enjoyed the post. I think maybe one day I’ll loc but right now is not my time.

  2. Oh wow – come join the locs-side! I love my locs because – like you – I always used to wear my hair in twists and locs take less maintainence. I retwist my hair myself and have it down to 1hr 45mins to do my whole head, and thats only every 2weeks to every month. I just put on a film and get to it. I love the ‘get up and go’ aspect. I’m not a much of a girlie girl and I hate mornings, so the shake-and-go is ideal!

    Are you actually thinking of locking?

    • I know,I should join the loc side is sounds so tempting! I’m so tired of twisting my hair every 2 weeks it’s such a pain sometimes. The only thing keeping me from locing is that fact that I like wearing my hair out at times. Thanks for commenting!!

  3. Oh wow – come join the locs-side! I love my locs because – like you – I always used to wear my hair in twists and locs take less maintainence. I retwist my hair myself and have it down to 1hr 45mins to do my whole head, and thats only every 2weeks to every month. I just put on a film and get to it. I love the ‘get up and go’ aspect. I’m not a much of a girlie girl and I hate mornings, so the shake-and-go is ideal!

    Are you actually thinking of locking?

Leave a Reply

