NSFW: Is it barking mad to abstain from stamp collecting so you can…grow your business & your hair?


***This post is NSFW so you’ve been warned***

This is the question of the week.

If I have to explain what stamp collecting is, you know what to do — read the Charcoal Ink archives! Our faithful Charcoal Ink brethren know the deal, but if you are a new reader, stamp collecting is basically this.  

I was recently joking with a friend that I did not want to be stamped again until I reached my business goals and now until my hair restarts its growth. She thinks I am not being realistic and I do think she is right.

When I see successful businesswomen, this is going to sound BARKING MAD but I feel like the media makes successful businesswomen appear like they are asexual and do not need a man at all. I want to be successful but I do want to have a boyfriend too.

With my digital marketing business on the side, from August – December 2010, I made £1,100. I am very excited that I made the first £1,000 so I just have to focus now.

But I can’t stop thinking about the bloke who got away…..what’s an ambitious girl to do — choose between the business or the bloke? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “NSFW: Is it barking mad to abstain from stamp collecting so you can…grow your business & your hair?

  1. I agree with T. As long your focused on your work and don’t let stamping come in between that you’ll be fine. Like she said it can be a stress reliever and sometimes that is needed.

  2. Hey :-}

    Without meaning to sound crude, I believe stamping to be crucial to maintaining some sanity. IT is nature’s certified stress-reliever. What ambitious, business woman does not need that from time to time?

    I do not believe that one has to choose between the two? Regular stamping and goal-accomplishment can go hand in hand. Just find a someone who shares your ambitions, or someone who if not, still supports you in pursuing your ambitions. Or simply does not get in the way, or hinder you in any shape or form. Then all will be well.

    I totally know what you mean when you say business women are made to look asexual, all independent, can take of their ‘needs’ on their own. But the media presents these women as not needing a ‘man’ not as not needing companionship and all that entails. I guess plenty of folks still have a vested interest in making women believe that they must choose; successful career or companionship. But I know plenty of women who have both; and their relationships are the driving force behind their work ethic…or their determination at work translates into how they maintain their relationships. What I am trying to say in a very long winded way is this; being successful does not require you to abandon stamping. At all.

    • T, Many thanks for commenting 🙂

      I totally agree that it is a huge stress reliever, but I think society makes it seem like u can either be a huge career girl but have no love life/stamp collecting life.

      I think I need to look at it from your perspective of being able to have both: a growing business and a large, vibrant stamp collection. My problem is it has been a good
      18 months since the last time. I barely remember what it feels like!

Leave a Reply

