Natural Hair Postcards from Paris: Talking to Clarisse


Clarisse is a friend of mine I met in Paris, through a great friend of mine, Lina. I met Lina when she was in the UK studying to learn English. Clarisse was so kind to me when I came to Paris last year to visit Lina, and we became firm friends. From French Guyana, but living in Paris, Clarisse is wicked: she is doing a Masters in Human Nutrition, loves to travel, cook and read novels by Sophie Kinsella.

As it turns out, Clarisse is a natural, so in this interview, Clarisse explains what the black hair & natural hair scene is like in Paris. I have translated [1] our interview from French to English but retained the French text to keep the flavour of the content. (The english translation is in brackets).

1) Peux-tu définir comment les filles francaises d’origine noire porte leurs cheveux? (Q1: Can you define how black French girls wear their hair?)

Alors je dirais que les françaises noires, toute originie confonudue, au niveau des cheveux,ont des styles différents.
Beaucoup ont des cheveux défrisés, il y en a aussi plusieurs qui portent des perruqes et tissages (wigs) et parfois des cheveux tressés avec des rajouts ou sinon certaines portent leurs cheveux naturels.

(When it comes to hair, I would say that black French women of different origins have different hairstyles. Many have relaxed hair, and there are also several women who wear wigs and weaves, and sometimes braided hair, or some wear their hair natural.)

2) Vous venez de la Guyane [2]. Est-ce que les filles guyanaises utilisent les défrisants partout ou est ce-qu’il y a les filles qui ont les cheveux naturels? (Q2: You are from French Guyana[1]. Do French Guyanese girls use relaxers mostly or are there some girls who have natural hair?)

Il faut savoir qu’en Guyane, il y a beaucoup de métissage donc il y a différents types de cheveux, bouclés, lisses, crépus mais comme partout il y a des filles qui se défrisent les cheveux et d’autres qui les portent naturels.

(It’s important to know that in Guyana, there has been a lot of mixing, which means that there are different types of hair: curly, straight, and kinky, but like other places, there are girls who relax their hair, and others who wear their hair natural.)

3) Veux-tu etre ‘natural’ et a Paris, est-ce qu’il y a beaucoup des filles qui sont ‘naturals?’ (Q3: Do you want to be natural in Paris; are there many girls who are natural?)

J’ai fait le choix d’être de porter mes cheveux naturels parce que j’ai eu une chute de cheveux au niveau de la tempe et je ne voyais pas mes cheveux repoussés.
Mais aussi, parce que même si mes cheveux défrisés étaient longs, ils n’avaient plus aucun volume et c’est quelque chose que je ne supporte pas les cheveux tous plats, tous fins d’où encore le choix d’opter pour un retour au naturel, car j’aime voir les cheveux volumineux. A Paris, je constate autour de moi qu’il y a de plus en plus de filles qui reviennent aux cheveux naturels. Après est ce que c’est juste par envie ou phénomène de mode je ne sais pas. Il y aussi de plus en plus de filles qui portent des locks.

(I made the choice to wear my natural hair because I experienced hair loss at one point. But also, because if my relaxed hair was long, they would not have more volume, and that is the reason for me why I did not want hair that was too fine, that’s where the choice to go natural came, as I wanted voluminous hair. In Paris, I can see that there are more and more girls going back to their natural hair. Beyond that, it’s probably just want or a fashion trend, but I am not sure.)

4) Beaucoup de filles disent qu’elles ont les buts pour leurs cheveux, comme elles veulent les cheveux qui touche leur epaules. Qu’est ce que c’est tes buts pour tes cheveux? (Q4: Many girls say that they have aims for their hair, such as they want hair that touches their shoulders (bra strap length). What are your aims for your hair?)

Malheureusement, je n’y dérogerais pas, parce que moi aussi mon but, je ne dirais pas le milieu du dos mais une longueur qui s’en rapproche. Parce que depuis toute petite j’ai toujours aimé les cheveux longs donc forcément mon “rêve” c’est de les avoir longs. Et lorsque je portais mes cheveux défrisés, je suis arrivée à atteindre une belle longueur et j’aimerais bien la retrouver mais cette fois-ci avec mes cheveux naturels.

(Unfortunately, I’m not going against this, because for me too, I am not saying I want my hair at the middle of my back, but a length which comes close. Because since I was little, I always liked long hair, therefore forcibly my ‘dream’ is to have long hair. And when my hair was relaxed, I was on my way to having length, and I would really like to find that again, but this time with my natural hair.)

5) Pense-tu que les défrisants ne sont pas bons pour les filles noires? (Q5: Do you think relaxers are not good for black girls?)

Ma réponse va paraitre un peu paradoxal, je pense que les produits défrisants sont nocifs puisque au bout d’un certain, les cheveux sont abîmés . Sur beaucoup de personnes, et comme je l’ai pu constater sur moi., les cheveux perdent en volume, ils sont cassants et ternes et c’est évident que c’est un produit qui abîme réelment la texture de nos cheveux. Cependant j’ai pu voir autour de moi des filles noires avec de superbes cheveux défrisés, brillants et paraissants en bonne santé. Mais je pense qu’il faut avoir conscience que lorsqu’on s’engage dans le défrisage, les cheveux exigent énormément de soins si on souhaite avoir une belle chevelure.

(My response is going to come across a bit paradoxical, I think that the relaxer products are toxic to a certain point, when the hair becomes damaged. On certain people, and I noticed this on me, hair loses volume, it’s brittle and dull, and it’s clear that it is a product that really damages the texture of our hair. However, I have seen around me black girls with glossy relaxed hair that seems to be in good shape. But, I think it’s important to be aware that when we use relaxers, the hair requires a lot of care if we want to have healthy hair.)

6) Qu’est ce que tes style favoris pour tes cheveux? (Q6: What are your favourite hairstyles for your hair?)

Mes cheveux, je les attache très souvent pour former une couette et parfois j’aime bien faire des vanilles avec des rajouts. J’ai envie d’essayer de me faire un frohawk car c’est une coiffure qui est très jolie et qui permet de mettre les cheveux crépus en valeur et qui fait classe.

(I often wear my hair in bunches, and sometimes I like to wear braids. I would like to try a frohawk, and that is a hairstyle that is really pretty and allows you to put kinky hair which looks classy.)

Verdict: Clarisse is a lovely person, and because I have met her in the flesh, I can attest to this. I loved doing this interview because I think it’s so important to get different non-Anglophone perspectives on the natural hair debate. I am so keen to go back to Paris and find out more what the Afro hair scene there is like. What did you think of this interview? Please comment and let us know.

Notes:

[1] I translated this interview, all by myself without using the internet. Putting those French skills I learned in Martinique to work, I hope you liked this interview as much as I did organising it!

[2] French Guyana, where Clarisse is from, is a départment d’outre mer of the Republic of France, just like Martinique. This means it is part of the French Republic but is semi-autonomous. The capital is Cayenne.

One thought on “Natural Hair Postcards from Paris: Talking to Clarisse

  1. Hi Kag !!
    How are you? Je te souhaite une bonne et heureuse année 2011 avant que ce mois de janvier ne se termine.
    Comme tu as pu le voir, je ne suis plus sur Facebook, mais tu peux me joindre sur mon mail.
    @ bientôt sur Paris maybe … …
    Bisous

    Clarisse

Leave a Reply

