Natural of The Week: Katherine


Whats your name?

My name is Katherine Cox/ KathieBCD

Where you from?

Born in raised in California, currently a senior History major at Tougaloo College in Mississippi

How long have you been natural?

Well, it’s been a year since I had a perm, it has been 8 months since my BC

What made you want to go natural?

I went natural to prove to myself that I could set a goal on my own and complete it. I wanted to make my own decision because most of my life had been dictated for me. The more research I did I found out that it was so much more to natural hair than I thought. I saw the beauty in my sisters, the naturalness, self awareness, and so much more. I was inspired and I knew I could find myself somewhere in that mix.  I have always searched for a way to express who I am and I knew that naturally being me would get me closer to finding out who I am. I felt as a black woman in today’s society, I’d be taking a stand and telling the world, “LOOK THIS IS WHO I AM!” Proud of it…

Whats your hair routine?

I don’t have a hair routine, it is whatever flows. I do wash and deep condition it once a week. I love my fro!

Whats your favorite hair product?

100% Shea Butter, I love the shine and softness it gives

What troubles you most about your hair?

My hair can get very, very dry and matted down.

Whose your hair inspiration?

My hair inspiration is my cousin, she was the one who really introduced me to the natural hair world.  Every time I had a question she was right there to answer and help me out every step. Always encouraging me to take the next step. I was also inspired by Miss. Lauryn Hill, her music speaks to my heart. She has made a real impact in my life as a woman.

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

I say, stay strong and true to who you are. If you need help there is an entire natural hair community out here to help you!

Do you have a website? and the url please?

Here is my blog site katthie.tumblr.com and twitter https://twitter.com/kathieBCD

Anything else you want to say?

For me going natural was one of the best things I’ve done.  It has taught me so much. I have learned patience, because the transition part of going natural was a killer. I love my hair, I love it, I love it, I love it! lol..

*If your interested in becoming Natural of The Week please email at mjcarter09@gmail.com for more info. *

4 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Katherine

  1. Pingback: Natural remedy for under eye dark circles and puffy eyes !!! | Natural Way to Recover from eye problems

Leave a Reply

