Natural of The Week: Minna Salami


[photo credits]

Autumnleaves by www.aistelei.com

Side-view and Portrait Picture by Muyiwa Oguntoye http://praetorian.shutterchance.com/

 

Whats your name?

I’m Minna Salami, aka MsAfropolitan.

Where you from?

My ethnic background is Finnish and Nigerian.

How long have you been natural?

I stopped relaxing my hair in 2004.

What made you want to go natural?

I always hated the outgrowth and the relaxer process. My hair was always dry and brittle, and somewhere in the back of my mind I knew it was due to the relaxer treatments. I was living in New York at the time and many of my female friends were transitioning so I decided that it was the right time to go for it.

Whats your hair routine?

I wash my hair once a week roughly, sometimes more. In between washes I moisturize like a maniac, I use lots of hair lotion in the morning and at night.I’m not very creative with the way I wear my hair, it’s out most of the time, so I keep it braided or in a bun at the top of my head night-time.

Whats your favorite hair product?

At the moment I’m using the Mizani True Textures hair range which is great. However, I switch products often. I also like Herbal essences, Kerastase, Mixed Chicks, Ojon and Hamadi. The one hair product that I always have in my cabinet is coconut oil. It’s great for my hair.

What troubles you most about your hair?

My hair is frizzy by nature and this can be a pain, not because of the way it looks but because it’s long and gets awfully tangled if I’m not careful.

Whose your hair inspiration?

When I stopped relaxing my hair I remember seeing a picture of Amel Larrieux and thinking – I want hair that’s that healthy and long. Now that I’ve gotten to know my hair texture, I don’t think Amel’s hair is as curly as mine.

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

If they are after growth, I’d advise patience. Otherwise my main advice is to enjoy the fact that you are your authentic self and able to love your own unique hair texture.

Do you have a website?

My website is www.msafropolitan.com

Anything else you want to say?

I am not my hair, but my hair is an extension of me. It represents who I am, my legacy. Therefore, like everything else, which extends me, I believe in nourishing and loving it. I have learned that there is no magic treatment or style that is better for the hair, than love. If you’re ready to love that which is uniquely yours, it will love you back in return.

*If your interested in becoming Natural of The Week please email me at mjcarter09@gmail.com for details*
2 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Minna Salami

Leave a Reply

