Natural of The Week: Kia


Whats your name?

Kia and some people refer to me as my blog, Yummy411.

Where you from?

Washington, DC born and raised!

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for about 4 years now.

What made you want to go natural?

I went natural the first time for the health of my baby.  I didn’t want to dabble in any chemicals, etc.  The second time, I just grew weary and tired of fighting against my natural hair texture, constantly wearing my hair in an unnatural state.

Whats your hair routine?

My hair care routine is nothing special at all.  I get my locs retwisted every few weeks and spray with oil and leave in conditioner for some lustre.  My goal was to be low maintenance, but the way I like my locs… low maintenance is a total misconception!

Whats your favorite hair product?

Only one?  Overall, I think one of my favorite hair products is Herbal Essence’s 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner.

What troubles you most about your hair?

It doesn’t have to be trouble, but keeping up with my new growth/getting my hair retwisted is tres annoying!

Who’s your hair inspiration?

I don’t have one particular person as inspiration, it can be a woman or man in a mag, on the street, on a city bus, anyone with healthy, beautiful locs… that’s my inspiration!

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

I would tell newly naturals that they need patience.  Learning to care for your natural hair may be totally different from what you have been learning and practicing on relaxed hair.  Also, stay encouraged!

Do you have a website? and the url please?

I blog beauty on Yummy411  (hair, makeup, skin care, nails, etc.) in which I also include tidbits of my life.
http://yummy411.blogspot.com

Thanks so much for the opportunity to be Natural of the Week on Charcoal Ink!!

4 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Kia

  1. Great Natural of the Week! Kia is an amazing blogger, makeup artist and I’m so happy to call her a friend. I love her blog and her natural hair!

    Great feature! I’ll be coming back to read more 🙂

    • Isn’t she beautiful. I’ve been following her beauty blog for awhile now and it’s amazing you should go visit it she has mad skills at makeup. And her hair beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

