The Afro Natural Hair Revolution will be Televised


Sharing my journey in video format, makes people feel like I am standing right next to them, showing them what to do.

–Kerry, from New York, a Natural Hair video blogger

Video blogging for natural hair has erupted into an audiovisual Cookie Monster. Women have decided to go online but with cameras to talk about their hair. I think this is a fascinating new trend in African hair because in many ways, video is a true way to encapsulate what is going on with black beauty. By the same token, does it make your hair too personal, and can you always connect with someone who could be ranting and raving about their hair?

Charcoal Ink is going to look at the phenomenon by asking the women on the frontline of the natural hair video blogging revolution. Are you armed with your flipcams? Keep reading this feature to find out why.

Kerry, natural hair video blogger extraordinaire

Kerry is from New York in the United States and she is one of the seasoned pros of the natural hair YouTube industry. Kerry, who went natural in November 2009, says: “For me doing natural hair videos is the easiest way to document my journey/growth, to connect with other people, to share different styling techniques and to get feedback.” This is a key factor to remember about the video bloggers for hair. With a traditional blog such as this one, an author will post a feature and secretly hope to be awash with comments. The difference with YouTube is in most cases: you are awash with feedback immediately because the visual element is so powerful. People like being able to see who they are speaking to. I think this is particularly relevant for natural hair as well.

One thing that YouTube has shown is that certain videos are more popular than others. Videos showcasing growth and how to do certain styles such as cornrows tend to outstrip others. Kerry says the hairstyle and product videos are her most popular ones. “Many of my viewers appreciate when I showcase how different products work for my hair”, Kerry says. Nakeisha James Moore is from Oklahoma, a state in the US. Nakeisha, the founder of Zipporah, a beauty company, has been video blogging about natural hair for a while. Nakeisha’s inspiration to be a hair video blogger had many starting points. “At first I was content with just watching the videos. I was too shy to do a video myself . So making videos has helped me to help others on their journey to healthy hair”, Nakeisha says.

A key factor about the natural hair video revolution is the fact it is all about communities. Kerry says: “I love being able to interact with people from all over the world. If I need help with something whether it be hair related or not, I know that I can upload a video and people are more than willing to offer advice. YouTube on a whole is a sharing community and I have learned a lot since I first joined.” Nakeisha James Moore, who creates edgy products such Vanilla mint serum, explains: “I know in my case my hair always broke off because of lack of knowledge in caring for my hair. So these videos out there geared towards healthy hair care/natural hair care is wonderful because a lot of people are being informed on how to care for their hair properly.”

What do you think of the natural hair video revolution? Will it change how we shop and hunt for products?

5 thoughts on “The Afro Natural Hair Revolution will be Televised

  1. I have watched some of her videos, they really helped me with my transformation, but
    Her make up is absolutely beautiful!!!

  2. I love this post. First I would like to say that natural video bloggers have helped me tremendously on styles and just learning anything period about hair. It’s mainly how I learn to do styles. Two, I really want to video blog but I’m so camera shy which I see Kerry mentioned she was at first also. I think reading her story will help those people like who are shy try something new.

    • Glad you like it, love! I hope to do more of the video blogging bc it adds such a sharp dimension to Afro hair in a digital prism.

      Love Kerry & Nakeisha’s work.

Leave a Reply

