Natural of The Week: Tia


What’s you name?

Tia

Where you from?

Born and raised in North Carolina

How long have you been natural?

I have always been natural. I was fortunate to have a mother that was also natural all her life – taking care of a natural texture was second nature for her.

What made you want to go natural?

I stayed natural because the relaxer process just did not sound like it was worth all the pain, time, and money.

Whats your hair routine?

I wash, condition, and style weekly. Lately my schedule has been so hectic that protective styles have been saving my hair as well as my sanity I keep my  routine simple because that is what I have found to work the best for my hair. My hair doesn’t like a lot of treatment and special regimens.

What’s your favorite hair product?

Shea butter. I have tried to stray from this product but I always come running back.

What troubles you most about your hair?

The multiple textures used to drive me crazy but since I have learned how to deal with them there isn’t anything that I have encountered lately that troubles me when it comes to caring for my hair.

Who’s your hair inspiration?

There are a lot. I take a little from everyone but there is not one person that inspires me entirely. I love curlynikki’s easy styling, Leobodyc5’s length, kimmaytube’s research, and Traycee from K.I.S.S disiciple. All those ladies have very different hair and that shows that when it comes to inspirations I admire techniques and knowledge the most.

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

The first thing you need when deciding to go natural is patience. You may not have the texture you desire, length will not come overnight, and information overload will get frustrating but stay focused on yourself and you will learn all you need to know to care about your own hair. Don’t feel like you have to do what some board, blog, or vlog told you. Do what your hair likes and what you understand and one day you will be the person giving advice to the next up and coming wave of newly naturals.

 

9 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Tia

  1. I dig her. She and I have love for the shea butter. 😉 Plus Tia is absolutely right to maintain a simple type of regimen and do not lose sight of what works best for you and your hair. It takes experimenting. I hear her on the pain of relaxers, oompf the pain!!! Stuff was killer. Beautiful texture and nice skin. I would like to know some of her protective styles.

  2. her hair is gorgeous. reminds me of Roshini from Glamazini blog – an abundance of hair. I really need to start treating my hair with loving care

  3. I love her hair. I wish my curl pattern was loose like this it would be so much easier to manage. And shea butter is my favorite can’t live without it.

  4. Tia’s hair is beautful. Her hairstyles are always neat and creative. She is an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

