Natural of The Week: Toija


[click on picture for larger view]

What’s your name?

My name is Toi but everyone can call me Toija

Where you from?

Born and raised in SanFransico California…then I was brought to Houston, Texas when I was about 12 so I guess you can say im a Houstonian!

How long have you been natural?

I big chopped 11/27/2009, september 27th 2010 makes 9 months.

What made you want to go natural?

Well this is what happened…
So I never knew how to properly take care of my hair. I always wore Microbraids, then I transitioned to only wearing sew in’s after wearing sew in’s during my entire pregnancy, I finally took them down and whoa … I was like omg my hair is healthy and the longest it had ever been. Keep in mind all the years wearing braids, and sew in’s I never relaxed so I was actually natural ( I just didn’t know it). A little while after I found a beautician, relaxed, and got highlights.

This is where my story gets bad… I never really washed,deep conditioned, or moisturized my hair. My hair started falling out. One day before my  26th bday I had my last relaxer EVER! And guess what 80% of my hair fell out her sink. I was flabbergasted to say the least! So I started a healthy relaxed hair journey, but I was still unhappy I was tired of my hair being flat,boring,and just like every other Black girl in my community I wanted to be natural!

I wanted to fight against what society said was beautiful/normal.
I wanted to embrace my roots.
I wanted to be free of the classifications we as Black women put on our hair.
This was the day my whole mind frame changed.

I planned on transitioning for a year, but I only last 5 1/2 months. I big chopped November 27th and never turned back. I was afraid to go out with my nappy hair in public, but that only lasted like one week. So here I am 9 months later, and I’m utterly & totally happy about my decision.

Whats your hair routine?

My hair is very picky, I call her “Sheba the diva”, just like me she’s a simple gurl.
My hair never did like all those products I ran out and bought when I was newly natural.
This is what my hair adores:
WATER, WATER, WATER!
Olive oil
Coconut oil
Tea tree oil
And I co-wash about 3 times a week deep condition once a week ( or as needed). pretty simple huh?

Whats your favorite hair product?

WATER! and natural organic oils.

What troubles you most about your hair?

The only annoyance I have is the dryness, my hair will get dry so quick. This is why I co wash so much!

Whose your hair inspiration?

Every single natural in the entire world who owns his/her natural hair with confidence, takes pride in it, nourishes it, and is committed to it.

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

Please be patient! don’t feed into the hype of all those products you hear about Yes, you will have to try different ones, but once you find what works for you STICK WITH IT! Do not focus on other naturals journeys, because everyone’s hair is different. Your hair will never be like the other girls hair. Your hair is unique, and it is beautiful as well. Growth will surely come, but not unless you are committed to taking care of your hair.

Peace-luv-&-nappiness!

You can visit Toija at her blog: http://vintagednatural.tumblr.com/

*If your interested in becoming Natural of The Week please email me at mjcarter09@gmail.com*

“Please support Charcoal Ink by uploading your CV here. It’s free, you can find new jobs and keeps this blog going thank you!”

5 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Toija

  1. Thank u for all the luv yall
    Made me smile =-)
    Happy to be featured on this site, it was a pleasure
    Peace-luv-n-nappiness

  2. Toija is a living inspiration. She said it right about following your own hair journey and learning what works best for you. We are all different with our hair even if society thinks we are all the same pertaining to our hair. I love how she said Water is the main importance for moisturizing the hair. It is! Deep conditioning as well can help restore moisture and a must. Thank you for this feature.

  3. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!! Look @ my bestie…….FINALLY getting recognition for the fabulousness that is TOIJA!!!! Absoulutely LOVES it. YOU BETTA WORK IT!!!!!
    *(in my RuPaul voice)

Leave a Reply

