Protective Style: Kinky Twist


With summer coming to an end and fall just around the corner the temperature will drop meaning new hair styles. Usually for a protective style I like to wear my hair twisted and covered with a cute beret. But this time around I want to try something new called kinky twist which are longer twist with extensions.

The reason kinky twist appeal to me is because they still look natural, they look easy to do, and they look easy to take down. I’ve been doing a lot of research mainly looking at YouTube videos on how to start kinky twist and how to add the extensions. My main concern is not being able to grasp the hair at the root, so I’ve been practicing with my hair. Now I did look into getting it professionally done and in my area which is Cleveland, OH it cost about $150 to $200 can you say I refuse to pay that amount and would rather try it myself.   I plan on doing them this weekend depending on my work schedule. Has anyone ever tried kinky twist and if so any tips? Also here’s one of the YouTube tutorial videos I’ve been looking at.

10 thoughts on “Protective Style: Kinky Twist

  1. It looks like a lot of work for a person to do or doing it yourself. It does look nice. I don’t have any protective styles during the winter. I still tend to wear my wash n gos because it does not get super cold in California. Extra hair sometimes bother me, or makes my scalp itch. Hmm… Lots of ladies are prepping for the coming fall/winter season from blogs that I have read. Could you wear your own hair in two strand twists since it is long enough?

  2. braiders always complain my hair is too long. shrinkage fools them. when stretched my hair is shoulder length or beyond. anyway I usually get my kinky twists well rather rope twist in ja. have asked around and it will cost me about £60 plus cost of hair. I watched many videos on youtube and as I cant get the hang of the twist and roll technique I am going to try fluffy twists. there is a video on youtube by a user called “napngo” she is a stylist and she gives good tips. with fluffy twist you dont have to twist and roll just twist and thats it.

    It does not look like I can get the Janet kinky bulk hair but have spotted freetress and aftress version online from uk sellers. so fingers crossed. and good luck please share pics and techniques if you can

    • thanks for the info. I will be looking that up on youtube. i really want to learn how to do this. I figured when I do them I’ll do them while my hair is wet to make it easier to part.

  3. I got them professionally done (don’t have those type of skills!). I left them in about 7 weeks. They looked more natural as time went on. I paid about $120. The hair was $* a pack and I used 1 and a half packs.

  4. I got kinky twists once and i LOVED them. The older they got, the more they looked like my real hair. I used a brand called Janet Afro-Kinky Bulk. The only problem is that my hair is too long (imagine that!) for most of the afro kinky brands. They should not cost more than regular extensions.

    • See I’m afraid that my hair may be to long also. Now did you get them professionally done or did you do them yourself. Also how long did you leave them in? For some reason the prices here to get them done are in the $100’s but the pack of hair I believe is around $4.00.

Leave a Reply

