Natural of The Week: Cassie


Whats your name?

Cassie

Where you from?

Scotland, UK

How long have you been natural?

Most of my life.

What made you want to go natural?

I guess when I first consciously started wearing my hair in a definable afro style I was inspired by a lot of things. I wanted to look like one of my aunties, who wore her hair in a small ‘fro also things like watching ‘The Last King of Scotland’ seeing beautiful black woman, wearing their afro’s looking amazing! That’s when I properly decided ‘this is for me!’ I also feel a sense of pride about who I am and my identity.

Whats your hair routine?

I wash my hair every Sunday, Sunday is wash day! I only wash with cold water, I use 100% coconut oil shampoo and conditioner. I shampoo twice, the first with a huge amount, I leave it on for around 5 minutes, then rinse, then do the second shampoo with a smaller amount. Then I condition, after conditioning I apply 100% shea butter (which I just bought recently) I’m still a little unsure about how to apply it, so if anyone has any tips, I’d really appreciate it! I let my hair air dry, I never use heat on it and then I spritz with 100% coconut oil. I also trim my ends every 6-8 weeks.  In winter I do more treatments than in summer. I beat two eggs and add a table  spoon of olive oil and wrap it round my hair with clingfilm. It leaves my hair very shiny and soft! Other times I use VO5 hot oil treatments. I also use henna oil if I’m adding colour to my hair….when I feel like switching things up. At the moment It’s a sort of reddish-brown colour, but my hair is naturally very dark. I also wear regular hair colour and use shea butter pomade.

Whats your favorite hair product?

Coconut oil, it smells great, leaves my hair feeling moisturized and it gives a nice shine. I sometimes use it on my skin as well.

What troubles you most about your hair?

What troubles me most about my hair is the fact that it is constantly changing against my will to the point where it’s unbelievable. I don’t know it it’s my age, or hormones or whatever but the texture is so hard to keep up with. One year the back of my hair looked straight, other times it has been more wavy,when I was around 11. The texture always changes, it doesn’t last too long though but it is very frustrating and I don’t know anyone else with that issue. I’m still discovering how to keep it in tip-top condition, but I have come a  very long way. For one thing, living in Scotland you are lucky to have a shop that will cater for your hair. There are two in my city, that just opened this year, and both really only cater for relaxed hair. So from when I was old enough to decide what I was doing with my hair I had zero products, I thought hair spray helped my hair, I used heat on it at very high temperatures and brushed it dry. I was clueless. If I could stop the 14 year old me spraying hairspray on my hair like there was no tomorrow I would, but these are all things I have learned from and I have learned more from reading blogs like this. So to everyone who gives natural hair tips and recommendations. Thank you!  Because without it, I doubt there would be anyway I would know what I was doing if it wasn’t for you guys!

Whose your hair inspiration?

I have a few, Sophie Okenado, she always looks so sophisticated and her hair is always in great condition, Pam Grier, Wakeema Hollis and most recently Bre from America’s Next top model….I’m thinking of big chopping now!

What advice would you give to newly naturals?

To newly naturals I say. Your hair is beautiful, treat it with care and LOVE. Oils are a hairs best friend (but not too much) and if narrow minded people give you negative comments, never feel ashamed or like there is something wrong with you. Always hold your head high. Extra high!

– Cassie site is currently under construction but you can visit her at http://cassius-casi.blogspot.com.-

– If your interested in becoming Natural of The Week please email at mjcarter09@gmail.com-

“Please support Charcoal Ink by uploading your CV here. It’s free, you can find new jobs and keeps this blog going thank you!”

9 thoughts on “Natural of The Week: Cassie

  1. Pingback: Picture of the Week: Cassie & Her Afro in Cuba « Charcoal Ink

  2. Wow, Cassie is STUNNING.

    Going to be breaking hearts in the future.

    Memphiz, you are slaying all your posts. So happy with everything you are doing.

  3. This was so refreshing to read. Ladies we can come together with our share on ideas even from around the world. Thank you Cassie for sharing your story. Her hair is simply lovely. We are all beautiful. You all are the 3rd blogger I know who are featuring other natural hair bloggers. I am glad that everyone is introducing themselves and we can get to know them. Good press. 😉

    • I’m really happy you enjoyed reading this. The main reason I wanted to add this feature is because I thought it would be good to share ideas. Thanks!

  4. Wow, her hair is amazing! I always like to hear about naturals in other parts of the world. I have that same rasta hat, lol.

Leave a Reply

