Rising Star: Yaya DaCosta?


This morning, I had the pleasure of watching The Kids Are All Right, a fantastic dramedy about the kids of lesbians who seek out their sperm donor father. In any case, while you should definitely check out the movie, I wanted to highlight an actress that I had never heard of before, but who has apparently been rising ever since her start on America’s Next Top Model.

She was on the American soap opera, All My Children. Since that’s not my cup of tea, I cannot say if she was good on that show or not, but I am happy to report that she has moved up in the world! Girl must have some talent, because she is getting noticed enough to be put in very prestigious films. Last year, she was in The Messenger. I haven’t seen this movie, but it garnered some Oscar attention and snagged a nomination for Woody Harrelson.

In The Kids Are All Right, she plays the girlfriend of the sperm donor dad. She is mostly used for her striking beauty, but she does have a speaking role in which she is very charming. Plus, she is rocking a hot afro, which I’m sure Aulelia will appreciate! Her part is small, but I still remember her and the way she smiles (and stands and moves and tilts her head when she’s talking. Oh and her eyes too). When I was watching the movie, I did not know she was a model, but it makes perfect sense now.

Next up is TRON: Legacy, a big budget action flick. Her character is listed as Siren, which may mean she is again being used for her beauty. But hey, use what your mama gave you. Hopefully, she’ll get some substantial screen time. Has anyone else ever heard of her? Dear God, I can’t stop staring at her.

4 thoughts on “Rising Star: Yaya DaCosta?

  1. Ha ha, wontstopbelievin, i love the picture. so pretty.

    I like Yaya a lot. On ANTM, she was very conscious about who she was, and I really liked that about her.

    I know the boys like her too and so do the girls!

Leave a Reply

