What is the place of upmarket black hair salons?


I have never been to one, but always saw the Junior Green salon in Knightsbridge whenever I was window-shopping. My clear memories of it are that it is in this gorgeous slice of London property, grey with gleaming glass. The black women, from the window, always looked so slick and stylish.


Why do they exist?
I’d hazard a guess is that because as women of the African diaspora become more financially successful, there is a market to cater to black women who want their hair done in a stylish environment, by people with style as well. I have been to one, so I don’t know what they are like, but I do know I had always wanted to go to one, but the Junior Green salon always looked expensive lol. So that will have to wait until I am relatively successful.

I also think upmarket black hair salons are about an experience. Hair is not just going to a shop and buying kit, it is about experiencing, something which I hope Charcoal Ink can help to create.

Have you ever been to an upmarket black hair salon and if so, what was it like? Recount your experiences and let us know!

10 thoughts on “What is the place of upmarket black hair salons?

  1. I’ve never been to a high scaled beauty salon for proper hair maintenance through consultations, hair products recommendations, and the sorts. However where I go to maintain my cut, the stylist works at a very beautiful modeled salon with manicurist on site. They also recommend certain products for the hair ONLY under the authorized use of selling certain product line like Bumble & Bumble. I use Bumble & Bumble Grooming Creme and now the Deep Treatment Masque for the hair in a coconut scent. Certain salons I’ve noticed in the United States will sell contracted hair products with certain companies for promotion of their product also showing they only use higher end products on hair. So in a sense I guess I can say that I have been to a high scaled salon minus the consultants.

    Miss Jessie has several boutiques mainly the headliner main high scaled salon in New York. There are consultants on the clock as well recommendations on certain products. They cost is very high and along with the time. Again it must be to support those who seeking this sort of service whether a woman from around the way or the higher professional black women. I am mostly down for what’s affordable as well as what is a good hair stylist with best knowledge to care for my ethnic hair. How about you? It sounds like you would consider seeing this sort of salon. Quite interesting how hair salons are throughout the world even in London.

    • You’ve made some really astute points, I think. What was the Miss Jessie’s salon like? I’d love to know. Have you been to their one in New York? I would love to go just to check it out.

      • Thank you, Aulelia. I’ve never been to a Miss Jessie’s salon but when I doing research on their hair products on their online website. I noticed that they had hair boutiques in different locations. I do not even know a person who have been to their salon. I hear that it is quite popular.The cost for consultation and getting the hair done is $$$$. I’ve tried the curly pudding which I felt did not bring the similar look on the models from the Miss Jessie’s website. So I experiment with products to see what works for me. Have you ever heard of the Mixed Chicks product?

        • Yes, I have heard of Mixed Chicks, but the name of the brand puts me off to be honest. *blush* It sounds a bit…don’t know. What are their products like?

          • I’ve tried the Mixed Chicks Product, Shampoo, Conditioner, and Deep Treatment which I think is OK. I think it helped define curls but it made my hair feel crunchy. I don’t know if I applied too much product. I still have the products barely used. I feel the Kinky Curly Curling Custard does better on my hair. I wonder if these products are mainly for biracial individuals or with mixed ancestry. They say that this product can be used for anyone with curly hair. It is pricey products. I have not been using it at all since I bought it a year ago. I like for my curls to be define but not hard and crunchy. I don’t particular like all the ingredients in the product. KKKC is natural, organic products. With anything one has to try to see how it works on their hair and not just specific hair type.

            • KCCC is a brand I need to try as I have heard a lot of positive things about it.

              I don’t want hard or crunch curls either so I will steer clear.

              • It’s hard to tell with some products until you’ve tried it. Not everyone experiences the same. Some people put some form of something under it to prevent the crunchy nature. It just not what I need. I need for my hair to feel curly but natural. I feel often as black women we are always in search of the right product for us to help promote growth, moisture, and overall healthy hair. I have a PJ “product junkie” syndrome to want to try everything possible. Lately I’ve been wearing my hair straight. Just the other day when I washed I realized I missed my hair. Then I had an important engagement to attend, so I flat ironed it. Plus I am lazy in the morning, I don’t like wash n gos to head for my destination. I am thinking of my straight hair a rest for a minute. Good thing my curls does not revert or get damaged.

                I just feel more positive about KCCC. 🙂 YOu should really try.

                • I think you have made some really astute points, esp the product junkie thoughts.

                  I am not a PJ so much; once I find a product that works, I tend to stick with it.

  2. The upscale black hair salon does exist. At these salons, clients are paying for the consultative skills of the stylists, superior products, as well as overall atmosphere. These salons have been able to thrive in the US by catering to professional women clients. Sites like http://mysalonscoop.com aim to keep these salons in business for the women who seek them out.

Leave a Reply

