Why am I so drawn to the Miss Jessie’s brand?


I have never tried any of the Miss Jessie’s products, as I could never find them in the UK. However, I hear so much about them all the time.

I think Miss Jessie’s is an example of a hair brand that is marketed extremely well. Even though they don’t specifically market it to black women, it has been targeted to black women worldwide and it has such incredible branding.

This is going to sound superficial, but I already know that the next time I get the chance to go to the US, I will try my best to buy most of the products so I can try them out.

What do you all think of why Miss Jessie’s is such a successful brand? Do looks really matter of how a product looks?

8 thoughts on “Why am I so drawn to the Miss Jessie’s brand?

  1. Ummm, I’m in the US! lol Is this a European site? I happened to google afro styles and this page came up! Hmmm…Never posted to a European site before. lol!

  2. Miss Jessie’s products are super expensive and contain mineral oil. IF mineral oil doesn’t bother you, go for it. BUT, there’s noting natural about mineral oil. Have you heard of Kinky Curly? They have a website and it’s very similar to Miss Jessie’s but all of the ingredients are organic. I use them and they work well and are half the price of Miss Jessie’s! I heard Uncle Funky’s Daugther works well and Oyin Handmade Products. They both have websites. Good luck! 🙂

    • Kinky Curly looks good but again, only available in the US. I didn’t know Miss J had mineral oil though. Interesting! Mineral oil depends for me, sometimes it is odd for my hair then sometimes it doesnt do anything. Not sure.

  3. I would love to try it but it’s so expensive from the last time i checked, I’m going to have to splurge.

  4. They sell the Miss Jessies Brand at British Curlies and some others too. I am so tempted to purchase just the cost is holding me back a bit longer

Leave a Reply

