How important is appearance in business?


This is something I have been thinking a lot about recently. My MA project, vox-popPRcareers is coming along nicely and I hope the resubmission passes. So far, I have 120+ Twitter followers for vox-popPRcareers, and last month, more than 350 unique users from the UK, USA and Canada, which I am really pleased about.

It has been very hard to work on the project from abroad, but I am trying in my earnest to make it work.

One thing that has struck me is, that if I do go back to the UK again, how important will my appearance be in trying to get business and sales meetings?

Hair: What natural hair styles suit business and corporate environments? I would wager that braids or two-strand twists which are thin would look good in a corporate environment

Weight: Hate to say it, but I do feel like I need to lose a few extra kilos if and when I want to make business meetings. It does sound horrendous, as I am only 63 kilos myself and I have lost loads of weight from before, but people do prefer to look and meet skinnier people. I am not saying be a stick figure, but I am saying have a sleek figure like Beyonce.

What do you think? Do you think if you want to be a successful entrepreneur/businesswoman, that looks really do matter?

Leave a Reply

