Has anyone used Miss Jessie’s?


I have never used Miss Jessie’s products, so I am no way judging what they are like.

I went on their website today for the first time, as I would like to try one of their products and review it for Charcoal Ink.

I saw that the product below is deemed to be good for 2 strand twists. It’s called Curly Butter Creme.

I have also heard though that Miss Jessie’s products use mineral oil in them but I have never seen this for myself.

I’d be interested to hear from anyone who has used these products.

If I get the chance to go to the US this year, I would very much like to try the products just to see what all the fuss is about.

8 thoughts on “Has anyone used Miss Jessie’s?

  1. I tried the Curly Custard by Miss Jessie’s which did nothing for my hair. I did not follow the process of it as it is in the demo and photos on their website. I did test it on my natural hair to see if it will enhance my natural curl pattern. I did not see the hype in this product. It is also very expensive to purchase. I do not agree with the ingredients nor like them found in their products because I am trying to only use natural or organic ingredients in my staple products. IMO KCCC is better than Miss Jessie’s. I can be a PJ so I enjoy trying natural hair products any day. What are your staple products that you like using?

    • I had never heard of KCCC until I went to your blog so I want to check it out.

      I had heard from a few people that MJ was not that good for their hair but lol the power of marketing, I still want to try it!

      I love oils like coconut and jojoba and of course butters like shea.

      • It’s certainly a preference for one’s decision to use MJ or not. I have not tried any of their products due to cost and also the ingredients. I have sniffed most of them. The baby buttercreme smells the best. I think the Curly Meringue has a nice clean smell as well. I would certainly invest my money in KCCC over MJ any day. KCCC Curly Curling Custard has this yummy vanilla scent to it. The ingredients are natural. Yeah I can see how MJ marketing/advertising lures you in. You should read QuestforthePerfectCurl’s blog about MJ products. It’s very informative. You can also view some of the commenters about her post. It’s like a split between those who are for and against MJ products. Like any product it is not for all IMO. Depends on if one’s hair will absorb or reject it. I love moisturizing products. More moisture, better my hair. I just went to my stylist over the weekend for a hair trim. She said my hair looks so much healthy. She was asking what I was doing. I told her that I was wearing my natural curls for over a month. I tend to wear the flat iron straight look and my natural curls. I do the cowash regimen too though I’ve read lately-it’s not good for you and causes buildup of residue on hair. My hair seems to love when I do this.

        I like oils as well. I use coconut oil and shea butter right now. The ones on my bloggie. 😉 Btw do they have big natural hairlines in London? I would love to see what you all use there.

  2. Yeah, on the curly meringue mineral oil is the second ingredient listed. On the buttercreme, it’s a little further down. I got the ingredients from naturally curly.

    Curly Meringue Ingredients: water, parafinium liquidum, glycerin, triethanolamine, fragrance, carbomer, wheat amino acids, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, avocado oil, coconut oil, sweet almond oil, jojoba seed oil, olive fruit oil, oleth-5, PEG-12 dimethicone, ethylhexyl methoxycinnanate, disodium EDTA, DMDM hydantion, iodopropynyl, butylcarbanate, yellow 5

    Baby Buttercreme Ingredients: deoinized water, acetylated lanolin, beeswax, shea butter, cocoa butter carbomer 940, fragrance, castor oil, dilaurate laneth 15, glycerine, glyceryl stereate, hydrolyzed animal protein, imidazolidinyl,jojoba oil, baneth 15, mineral oil, methyl paraben, milk protein, panthenol, paraffin, PEG-400, PEG-100, stearate, petrolatum, propyl paraben, treithanolamine, vitamin E, wheat germ oil

  3. I tried the Baby Buttercreme and the Curly Meringue. They both contain mineral oil. The baby buttercreme was pretty moisturizing. It has a mild, sort of vanilla/baby powder scent. It leaves the hair shiny. The regular buttercreme smells like peppermint-the peppermint oil is the difference between the two. I didn’t like the meringue-it smelled bad and left my hair frizzy and greasy. Overall, the products are too pricey for me.

    • Aisha, thanks for confirming that they have mineral oil! Shall be steering clear of them then, as mineral oil makes my hair really greasy.

      Eek!

Leave a Reply

