Why lack of following-up shows lack of focus


I have realised one of my biggest flaws is my lack of following-up. I can have an idea, such as the one I had for vp, and for example, call a PR for a story — then a few days later, completely forget that I did that and think, “Well, they won’t want to hear from me now so what is the point of following up?” I think this is a huge mistake, but it is one that I have and I need to fix, especially considering the goals I hope to achieve in my life, that I have mentioned here for example.

I think when you don’t follow up, it is essentially planting seeds but forgetting to check whether your plants have bloomed yet. I would love to hear from you about what your thoughts are, and how you overcome following up in your professional and personal life.

Below are two examples of when I followed up successfully and when I did not do it properly:

When I followed up correctly

1) Situation: I contacted a senior executive at one of the most prestigious accounting firms in the world. I was tenacious and managed to secure a short, informal chat with this generous executive

What did I gain from it?: I learned a lot about what that particular department did as well as feeling encouraged about alternate paths that my career could have, besides journalism

When I did not follow up correctly

2) Situation: For vp, I emailed a PR at a well-known UK bank hoping to secure an informational interview for my website. I kept telling myself to follow up but eventually, the idea of following-up fizzled out.

What did I gain from it?: Nothing really and in fact you could say I wasted time by writing to her in the first place, if I was not going to follow up.

I am hoping by putting my success and failure in the realm of following up to get what you want, I am hoping we can discover better methodologies to succeeding.Especially because I am now in Kenya and will be indefinitely unless I pass the resubmission, I have to be more focused if I want to go back to London.

Why am I even writing about following-up?

I have realised that quite frankly, if I am even going to achieve a fraction of my dreams and goals, I need to sharpen up my act and giddy up. By figuring out how to follow up better, I hope to have better professional relationships with people.

I’d love to hear from you all about your perspectives so please take part in the comments.

—Did you like this article? Get the latest Charcoal Ink posts by email

Leave a Reply

