Black Girls in Magazines: Rihanna in Glamour.com


[All pix & interview from Glamour]

rihanna glamour

The thigh high booties are MINE!

This bish has my thigh high booties on. She did an interview with Glamour.com (US) in which she revealed a lot about her background and the incident.

Here are some key quotes:

On the photo of her face leaking:

It was humiliating; that is not a photo you would show to anybody. I felt completely taken advantage of. I felt like people were making it into a fun topic on the Internet, and it’s my life. I was disappointed, especially when I found out the photo was [supposedly leaked by] two women.

Really sad, and never knew about the women part. That’s awful!

On the media attention:

It has taught me so much. I felt like I went to sleep as Rihanna and woke up as Britney Spears. That was the level of media chaos that happened the next day. It was like, What, there are helicopters circling my house? There are 100 people in my cul-de-sac? What do you mean, I can’t go back home?

On the theme of Rated R:

I was involved in a lot of the writing. I put everything I’ve wanted to say for the past eight months into my music. The songs are really personal. It’s rock ‘n’ roll, but it’s really hip-hop: If Lil’ Wayne and Kings of Leon like my album, then I’ll feel good. I would not change anything about it. Even if people don’t love it, I made exactly the piece of art that I wanted to make. It’s super fearless—which is exactly how I feel right now. I am in a really good place.

This is a really interesting comment. I don’t know how Rated R will come across, but I am interested. I still stick by my original views from back in the day that Rihanna sounds best on uptempos, dancey tracks.

Predictably this is a hot topic and lots of people think it is insincere. She is releasing an album, but it is no big deal. Many artists use the media when they are promoting a product to discuss issues.

I don’t think it is a big deal that she is talking about it now. I would be more disappointed with her if she didn’t discuss it at all so at least she has opened up.

Leave a Reply

