Natural Hair: Am I the only one who has Lost respect for Joy Bryant?


[Still on hiatus. Will be back soon]

I found this today via Necole Bitchie, and just knew I had to blog on it. Must say I am shocked at how Joy Bryant is taking shots at the natural hair movement through trying to tear Tyra Banks down.

Sometimes Tyra is misguided but she always tries to start a dialogue and keep people discussing which really matters. I didn’t hear Joy banging on about being a weave-a-holic until after Tyra brought this discussion on TV so……NEXT!

And I need the people who try and be reductive by saying it is just hair to fuck off the hair posts then. Anyone else read Joy’s ESSENCE post and realise that she actually knows fuck all about the natural hair movement at all?

12 thoughts on “Natural Hair: Am I the only one who has Lost respect for Joy Bryant?

  1. At the moment, I have writing articles for a magazine for women of colour, I feel that many of these magazines are sponsored by weaves, relaxers, wigs advertising and where is the real us. We talk about black and beautiful and yet we are allowing people who have not interest in us, but our own, set our agenda.

    If people want to wear weaves, like them wear good ones, not the rubbish, too many of us are wearing.

    Tyra needs Jesus and I am not trying to be funny here. She is so insecure. Although I watch some of her shows, there is a fear of her own hair. She needs a lot of mental health.

    At the church, I attend, so many black women are wearing bad weaves, wigs, or extensions. Yet I have my hair natural and someone was suggesting that I should have my hair is braid extensions. So many of us are going bald, as for the fake nails, many of us are losing our nails. What is wrong with us?
    It is almost like we are in this mindset, that we cannot have long hair, nice nails and look beautiful.
    Eating properly, taking B supplements, flaxseed oil, will do many people wonders, that the weaves, extensions, which in the long run, is causing baldness and loss of hair.

    There are so many products are there which are far better for black women, that the rubbish sold in many of the black beauty stores.

  2. I’m not natural anymore and what she said, offended me, there is nothing “mad or Crazy” about hair without weave or straighteners, i’m not standing in judgement, because i of all people know how society judges women, black women especially.

    But she has that hatred inside. I never had hatred or the thought that my natural hair was “crazy or mad” it was simply hair to me, but i bent to societal whim (my weakness) not because i thought my looks are inferior.

  3. From what I got from her post, it seems like she’s trying to knock us naturals as somehow being “militant” about hair and that Tyra was succumbing to us mean natural black sistas instead of keeping it “real” and being proud of wearing a weave.

    This is my thing. I don’t have a problem with fake hair. I don’t have a problem with Tyra and Beyonce’s lacefronts and I don’t have a problem with Joy Bryant’s tracks. But what I do have a problem with is when chemical and weave supporting black women knock those of us who simply want to wear the hair the good Lord gave us. Joy is a completely ridiculous D-list actress who hates her real hair, so she’s not even worth discussing.

    As for Tyra, I found her attitude to be totally pathetic but not at all uncommon amongst black women. For it to be so monumental for her to show her real hair, which was, mind you, ravaged by chemicals, was just sad to me. To be in your mid 30’s and to be crippled by fear of your real hair is pathetic. Tyra has said on several occassions that one thing she is terrified of is letting boyfriends see her without her fake hair. Isn’t that pathetic?! I don’t get it. I am glad my mother never bought into that crap that’s been fed to black women for so long. She never put a perm in my hair and she never played that “good hair”/”bad hair” bs on my sisters and me.

    I like my real natural hair. It’s diverse and I can do anything with it. It grows like weeds. I don’t have to run and hide when it starts to rain for fear that my hair with go back. I can jump in a pool when I want. I don’t have to spend hours in the salon to keep my perm or my weave tight. Joy Bryant and other unnatural sisters spend thousands of dollars every year out of their salaries to keep their hair up. I can take that money and travel. Unnatural hair limits you and rules the lives of black women.

    I don’t begrudge black women who don’t want to wear the hair that grows out of their heads. But I do get angry that so many black women would rather be slaves to their hair than be seen nappy. It’s completely ridiculous to me.

    • “To be in your mid 30’s and to be crippled by fear of your real hair is pathetic.”

      “Tyra has said on several occassions that one thing she is terrified of is letting boyfriends see her without her fake hair. Isn’t that pathetic?!”

      I think some of your statements, such as the above, are very harsh. Tyra, like many black women, are products of their environment. Not everyone has the strength or support to buck the status quo. It takes a special kind of person to do that.

      On top of that, Tyra built a famous career in an industry based on fantasy and illusion, where everything down to your eyelashes is fake. She knows she is idolized by men all around the world as a great beauty. So in her case, being seen without weave, makeup, etc is a huge deal. There is an understandable fear that the reality will not match the fantasy. I think she actually has very good self-esteem considering the world she is coming from. So props to Tyra for that.

      “I am glad my mother never bought into that crap that’s been fed to black women for so long. She never put a perm in my hair and she never played that “good hair”/”bad hair” bs on my sisters and me.”

      You were very fortunate. But you also have to know that this isn’t the norm. Most Black women (at least in the U.S.) are NOT given positive feedback about their natural hair. They are coming from a different perspective.

      I just wanted to point these statements out because I think a lot of people feel the same way as you. I just think we should have more compassion for our fellow Black women, regardless of whatever stage they’ve reached.

  4. Aulelia,

    I was going to post about Joy’s rant but I couldn’t figure out how to present it. I’m just not sure if Joy was calling Tyra a hypocrite and being factious or was she being serious?

    Anyway did you read the comments after her post? It was the Amen choir over there.

    I miss you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  5. I actually read her post, and commented it also on my blog, but thought she was doing it with humour…yeah she may have gone a little childish in some parts, but overall I took it as she was doing it as a joke, not necessarily trying to minimize Tyra’s natural hair movement.

  6. I took her post as very tongue-in-cheek. I think in her own way she was trying to say “It’s just not that serious.” Especially after all this press coverage Black women’s hair is getting lately. I don’t think she was taking shots at the natural hair movement either.

    • Thanks for commenting, Aisha. The reason why this whole ‘It’s not just serious’ argument hacks me off because it is a childish way of trying to reduce other people’s opinions.

      Black hair MATTERS. If it didn’t, it wouldn’t be a billion dollar industry.

      So I will need Joy Bryant who I deffo think was taking shots at real hair to shut the F up. She came across really uneducated.

      • I agree: Black hair IS that serious. It’s more than just hair because of the significance we attach to it.

Leave a Reply

