Esperanza Spalding


Hi Charcoalies! It’s Aisha here, and I will be guest posting on Charcoal Ink for the next week. Thank you for the honor Aulelia! Please let me know if there’s anything you want me to talk about-I am new to the blogging world.

I wanted to start out by talking about one of my favorite artists, Esperanza Spalding. She is a 24 year-old vocalist and bass player, and I’m sure many of you may have already heard of her.

Jamming!

Jamming!

What I love about Esperanza’s music is that it is so mellow-the type of CD you can pop in after a long day at work or on a relaxing drive. Her voice is so soothing, and she’s really opened my eyes to jazz.  I also appreciate her musicianship-she writes, arranges, and sings her own music (in three different languages!), all while playing the bass and leading a band. Whew!

Here is a clip of her performing my favorite song on the album, “Ponta de Areia.”

I bought her debut album Esperanza last summer, and it’s still in heavy rotation in my car and house. I had the pleasure of seeing her live back in October, and I even got to meet her afterward. She is very sweet and down to earth.

In addition to all this talent, Esperanza is a natural beauty. I love that she doesn’t wear a ton of makeup or skimpy clothes.  She’s very classy. And that hair! She’s a natural hair inspiration for sure. I asked her what products she uses, and she mentioned Nature’s Gate Jojoba Conditioner.

I can’t wait to see what else Esperanza has in store for the world.

5 thoughts on “Esperanza Spalding

  1. Aisha,

    Great post. I love Esperanza. I love the “Esperanza” album too. Did you know that she is a college professor at the Berklee College of Music? She is so amazing. And I agree that she is beautiful as well. I love her ‘fro.

    • Thanks for commenting! Yes, I knew that Esperanza is one of the youngest ever professors at Berklee. Pretty impressive, considering that some of her students are the same age as or older than her.

Leave a Reply

