Video: Michael & Ebony/JET (Bad Era/1987)


Special thanks to Charcoal reader Aisha who alerted me to the existence of this interview.

Part 1. Video uploaded by IconicMJ.

Part 2. Video uploaded by IconicMJ.

I think you can see that he is definitely calmer when being interviewed by fellow black people. Honestly…there is a pattern with Michael’s interviews with black people – they tend to be better. Note at 0:07 in Part 1 when you can see the vitiligo on his face, but his hands are still very dark. Michael looked sexy to me in the Bad era. It’s the best he’s ever looked to me since he had his cosmetic surgeries, but he was always better looking before he had surgeries. What do you think?

Key quotes from this great interview:

Mike on work:

“It’s so much work. A lot of people, they are used to just seeing the outcome of work, they never see the side of the work you go through to produce the outcome.”

Mike on the creative process:

“I don’t remember. I don’t even count the hours or anything.”

Mike on the story behind the concept of ‘Bad’:

“He’s a black kid, like me.”

Mike on the media and whether it hurts him:

“Sometimes, but it is part of the work.”

Mike on Dirty Diana:

“It’s a lifestory of a groupie. Hate to say the word ‘groupie’, but that’s what it is. And it is something that I’ve experienced and a lot of people on the road. Like me, I don’t remember not performing.”

Mike on the fans stans:

“It’s very sweet. I feel thankful. I don’t take any of it for granted.”

Mike on touring:

“The worst thing for me personally to see is the opening show, because it is not as tight as it should be.”

Mike on working alone:

“I’ve done so much solo work. It’s just another road. Of course you always think things – I don’t see Marlon next to me, I don’t see Jermaine.”

I also think that in the Bad era, he did actually look really good. Obviously, he was better looking, almost gorgeous before the surgeries and I don’t think he needed them, but in terms of after the surgeries, Bad was the best he had ever looked, imo. What do you think?

Has anyone noticed how much heartbreak and shyness there is in Michael’s eyes? Such a charismatic and capturing guy. I can’t imagine how interesting he must have been in person – he looks like he was so thoughtful. He was also 29 at the time of this interview.

With each new video & interview, how can anyone not fall in love with this guy in a creative sense? Too cute for words. As always, looking forward to reading your comments on the interview.

22 thoughts on “Video: Michael & Ebony/JET (Bad Era/1987)

  1. Michael never seemed gay to me, just very shy and somewhat soft spoken. I read on another site (can’t remember which) that he and Stephanie Mills were suppose to have dated when she was staring in the stage version of the Wiz, not sure how true it is though cause in his bio he wrote that they were just good friends but he did go see her play quite a few times. Either way they look cute together here.

    • @Asha, I heard about this Stephanie Mills thing as well. Thanks for posting the link to the picture.

      I will post it up. I don’t think he was gay at all. Never got that from him. I think he was into women, the tragedy was finding a woman who was into him but not the money.

      Convinces me that powerful and rich men like him have to have rich wives.

  2. This is my favorite Mike interview (in two parts) I don’t know if it will post. I’ll send the links –

    • @pnc, thanks for posting!

      Michael is too cute! Only he can wear bright pink trousers & a dark pink cardigan, an old school outfit and make it look sexy as.

      Get it, Mike!

  3. Here is another video where Michael defends his Blackness, among other things. It’s pretty painful to watch-his distress is very evident.

  4. Michael is pure eye candy here! He is in his prime. It’s a great interview as well. I love how soft-spoken and shy he is, yet he also has a quite sexiness and masculinity to him. I wish more guys were like that. I think he was beautiful before as well as after his surgeries.

    I also see the heartbreak and shyness, which makes him even more endearing. This is a man who was not afraid to be vulnerable. You can tell that what the press said really did hurt his feelings, even though here he tries to brush it off. Of course, this was before the child molestation accusations. Later on his pain became more evident. Also, I think he is a bit cautious because he expects the interview to take some low shots at him.

    I think the Black community generally loved and accepted Mike despite his differences. The Black press never tore him apart like that. Mike was a Black man to the bone and I don’t get how anyone could not see that. He loved his people, his culture. It was in the way he danced, sang and talked.

    • @Aisha, your comment was beautiful when you said:

      I think the Black community generally loved and accepted Mike despite his differences. The Black press never tore him apart like that. Mike was a Black man to the bone and I don’t get how anyone could not see that. He loved his people, his culture. It was in the way he danced, sang and talked.

      Have you seen the Oprah interview? I will post it very soon. I think that was also done just b4 the molestation accusations, but he did give as good as he got as well. There was a steely toughness about him, even though he was vulnerable as well. He did tell Oprah where to go on certain things [not in a rude way] but in a firm way.

      In this interview, I really do think he looks very good. Like, if I saw a guy who looked like that today, I would find him attractive. But like I commented on the comments page of this youtube clip, his personality is absolutely delightful. He is chronically shy, that much is clear but he is also very intelligent and how humble is this guy????? So humble.

      Compare his calm, sweet manner to how rappers like Weezy are interviewed. It’s almost embarrassing to think Weezy is selling a million albs in 1 week when he really has nothing on people like Michael in terms of how he comes across.

      I absolutely loved this interview with Ebony — I thought the questions were tasteful and he just looked wickedly good here! Love it!

      The only thing about Mike that is kind of tragic to me, which I think you can see a little in this interview, is that he never found a woman who truly loved him for him.

      I think there were plenty of sisters who would have loved to have known his guy in a proper way.

      And this is going to sound awful, but when I look at someone like Michael, I think only a sister could have been good for him in that community-esque way that we as black people have.

      • I did see the Oprah interview, but I’ll have to rewatch it. Yes, he certainly did have a lot of strength in him. More and more people are seeing this video, and I’m glad.

        • I also agree-a good sister would have made all the difference for him. I just think it was so hard for him to meet down to earth people, and he was very guarded. He would have had to go somewhere where nobody knew him to find a woman, which would be impossible.

          • @Aisha, I really agree with what you said. Down-to-earth people in entertainment would have been very hard for him and considering that he is probably the most famous man on earth, meeting a woman, let alone a black woman, a sister would have been nigh impossible.

            Another thing I think is that black women, we are tough by nature, and we wouldn’t want any man to think that we are wanting to be with them because they have money, so there would have been a playing ‘hard to get element’ to things so who knows, maybe for Michael, a person who has been stabbed in the back by his turncoat sister La Toya, it would have been very hard.

            Another thing as well I think is that for someone as famous as Michael, the girl would either have to be ridiculously famous so they understand the media pressure or have made their own fortune so he didn’t feel like it was a money thing. Very sad.

            It would have been nice for him to have a sister. I also think people in interviews would have fucked with him less, you know. There’s something very powerful about black power couples (ie Will/Jada). Sorry I rambled!

      • The only thing about Mike that is kind of tragic to me, which I think you can see a little in this interview, is that he never found a woman who truly loved him for him.

        I think there were plenty of sisters who would have loved to have known his guy in a proper way.
        _______________________________

        It’s interesting you say this. I’ve been reading articles lately where folks have been speculating on Michael’s sexuality…them saying he had homosexual liaisons. Other articles saying he was a pre-op transexual. I know a lot of effeminate guys that are totally straight. I also know guys that are ‘butch’ and flamingly gay. I totally believe Michael when he says he’s straight. It bugs the shit outta me, that all these other people are trying to claim him. Why does everyone have to be an obviously masculine/feminine stereotype in order to be straight? Annoying.

        • @pnc, I definitely want to touch on this as well the so-called gay rumours. He said he was straight, even his MUM said he was straight therefore he is.

          Why does everything about Michael have to be a conspiracy?

          Such a shame he couldn’t find a black woman.

    • @Asha, wasn’t this during the Invincible era?

      Mike is a beast bc he did no promotion for Invincible, no tour and the album still sold 8 million CDs (not digital) worldwide.
      Just amazing. Any performer would think their career peaked at 8m albums.

      Thanks 4 Posting.
      PS/ I see you, AL!

  5. Aww his shyness is so adorable here. Did you see the unauthorized interview he did talking about how he comes up with song ideas, plays with his llama a bit, proceeds to sing Peter Pan songs, and then it looks like he gets bored so he decides to bring Latoya out and asks her questions lol? If not here it is (he is cute here as well):

    part1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZnrxk-dpVA&feature=related

    part2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg2ILcrqyQA&feature=related

    part3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F1es_ckoYY&feature=related

    • @Asha, thanks for posting the links. I saw this interview as well — it was cute.

      This past week, I have been thinking of a word to describe him and I think ”cute” is one of the best.

      I adore this Ebony/Jet interview. It’s adorable.

Leave a Reply

