WTF Files: Quincy, It’s Game Over.


Looks like this is the confirmation that Quincy really did sell Michael out.

Q: Did you believe him about the disease?
A: I don’t believe in any of that bullshit, no. No. Never. I’ve been around junkies and stuff all my life. I’ve heard every excuse. It’s like smokers—”I only smoke when I drink” and all that stuff. But it’s bullshit. You’re justifying something that’s destructive to your existence. It’s crazy. I mean, I came up with Ray Charles, man. You know, nobody gonna pull no wool over my eyes. He did heroin 20 years! Come on. And black coffee and gin for 40 years. But when he called me to come over to see him when he was in the hospital on his way out, man, he had emphysema, hepatitis C, cirrhosis of the liver, and five malignant tumors. Please, man! I’ve been around this all my life. So it’s hard for somebody to pull the wool over my eyes. But when somebody’s hell-bent on it, you can’t stop ’em.

Q: But it must’ve been so disturbing to see Michael’s face turn into what it turned into.
A: It’s ridiculous, man! Chemical peels and all of it. And I don’t understand it. But he obviously didn’t want to be black.

Q: Is that what it was?
A: Well, what do you think? You see his kids?

Q: Did you ever discuss it? Did you ever ask, “Michael, don’t you want to be a black man?”
A: No, no, no, please. That’s not the way you do it.

I’m extremely disappointed in Quincy. Note that this interview was done with Conde Nast after Mike died.

Can’t believe Quincy could be so insensitive to say what he did, so soon after Michael died and even talk about his children….what the fuck? I am very disappointed in him. He should know better. I had a lot of respect for Quincy but I have lost it by the bucketload after reading this interview done with Men Style.

Quincy has achieved a lot, but to slag Michael off like this where Michael is in no position to defend himself is disgusting.

So out of respect for Michael, I am not going to be writing anymore posts about VIBE magazine for the Black Girls in Magazines section and nor will I reporting on VIBE’s online activities.

No hate to Quincy or anything, but what he said has actually appalled me.

12 thoughts on “WTF Files: Quincy, It’s Game Over.

  1. Quincy cannot talk. Quincy does not even like black woman just lip service. At least MJ checked for black women and donated to loads of black causes without making a song and dance about it

  2. You know what? The coroner or the doctor or the toxicologist or whoever it is in the medical team will eventually give their report and finally we will know whether or not Michael Jackson had vitiligo. I don’t know who is telling the truth Michael or Quincy.

    • @Sugabelly, at any rate, Quincy is the one talking smack just like all the other fairweather people who used Michael for their own ends.

      The hypocrisy surrounding how people write about Michael just astounds me.

  3. All I can post is this:

    This was sung at Michael Jackson’s memorial by the brilliant Stevie Wonder. This song, written many moons ago, seems so fitting for MJ. It’s exactly how I feel about those who are so impressionable and seek to denigrate him in death.

    “They Won’t Go When I Go”

    No more lying friends
    Wanting tragic ends
    Though they do pretend
    They won’t go when I go

    All those bleeding hearts
    With sorrows to impart
    Were right here from the start
    And they won’t go when I go

    And I’ll go where I’ve longed
    To go so long
    Away from tears

    Gone from painful cries
    Away from saddened eyes
    Along with him I’ll bide
    Because they won’t go when I go

    Big men feeling small
    Weak ones standing tall
    I will watch them fall
    They won’t go when I go

    And I’ll go where I’ve longed
    To go so long
    Away from tears

    [B]Unclean minds mislead the pure
    The innocent will leave for sure
    For them there is a resting place
    People sinning just for fun
    They will never see the sun
    For they can never show their faces
    There ain’t no room for the hopeless sinner
    Who will take more than he will give
    He ain’t hardly gonna give [/B]

    The greed of man will be
    Far away from me
    And my soul will be free
    They won’t go when I go

    Since my soul conceived
    All that I believe
    The kingdom I will see
    ‘Cause they won’t go when I go

    When I go
    Where I’ll go
    No one can keep me
    From my destiny.

  4. lmao! wow quincey’s daughter and michael’s daughters look alike! how dare he say some bs like that. smh

  5. Oh really Quincy, what about his kids? Last time I checked YOUR daughter doesn’t look too much different color wise to Michaels

    Also can’t NOBODY tell me that Blanket is NOT Michael’s biological child 🙂

    • @Asha, Quincy is feeling himself a little too much. So tacky of him to talk about Michael’s children like that. No wonder his arse was not at the memorial.

      All them children are gorgeous.

  6. I couldn’t believe this when I read it. I thought it was some sick joke-how could he be serious? Quincy Jones needs some ras licks for this.

    • @Aisha, I couldn’t believe it either. I think Quincy really overstepped it here. I have lost so much respect for him.

      Honestly, what he said was so tacky and almost pathetic in a way. Quincy might think he is old-schooled supposedly telling it how it is, but what would have been really gangster was if Quincy told all of what he said to Michael’s face and by his own admission, he didn’t.

Leave a Reply

