Charcoal Reader Aisha’s Take on Michael Jackson’s Memorial


Charcoal reader Aisha kindly gave me a review of the MJJ memorial. Aisha posted it here in the comment box of this post but I thought it deserved more of a spotlight. Here’s her review:

I attended a public screening in Harlem near the Apollo Theater. I was so happy to be around other true fans. The whole ceremony was very sad (especially Jermaine, Usher, Brooke and Marlon), but I maintained my composure better than I thought I would. Trust me, I had those gut wrenching, cry from the bottom of your soul moments in the privacy of my home. I’m sure there will be more to come.

At one point in the beginning of the ceremony, it started to rain. But then the sun burst through and chased away the clouds, and someone said, “That’s Michael.” I felt it was true. I’m also very grateful to the Jackson family for allowing Michaels’ body to be present. That made it even more special.

The best part for me was when the crowd sang “We Are The World” and “Heal The World” along with those on television. I felt like I was a part of something bigger. I will never forget that feeling or that beautiful, spiritual moment. Of course, when Paris came on that set me off again! I don’t think I’ll ever completely get over his passing. But hopefully the happy memories will eventually outweigh the feelings of sadness.

–I have to agree with Aisha in that I don’t think I will get over his death either. It’s very surreal for me because a few days after the news, I was sad but I tried to block out the awful news. And then this week, watching the memorial, listening to Michael’s groundbreaking music, I have just been crying and I have been in a state of semi-depression about what has happened actually. I also agree with Aisha in that I am deeply grateful that the Jackson family allowed a public memorial for Michael.

On a cheerier note, here are some hot pop-art inspired prints of Michael done by artist David Garibaldi that I saw on Concrete Loop.

2 thoughts on “Charcoal Reader Aisha’s Take on Michael Jackson’s Memorial

  1. Thank you for displaying my comment. It feels very healing to write about it and know that others feel the same.

    • @Aisha, I absolutely agree. It is healing. I have written an essay about what Mike meant to me and I will be putting it up.

      I am gutted about what happened but again, he is in a better place now where people can’t hurt him. BTW, John Mayer’s rendition of Human Nature had me on the verge of tears. It sounded beautiful and almost regal.

Leave a Reply

