Careers Update: Part Time Work & Why There Are No Journalism Jobs


Today feels like a sombre day, with the news of Gary, Indiana’s finest’ passing. I got up this morning feeling a bit grim about the whole thing. I loved his work and was so excited about the tour. Anyway, I tried to do some work this morning.

I was doing more cold calls and follow ups for a feature I am writing for my careers website, which is my Masters project. What I don’t understand is why don’t people just call back or get back in touch when they say they will? I know no one owes me anything but I think I have become the queen of chasing people.

On a good note, I found a part time job! Woop! I am now a part-time cleaner for an hour a day at a nursery. I am relieved to have this part time job because it takes some financial pressure off me. On a more subdued tone, I am struggling to find a journalism job. The economy is not lending itself for any media jobs, unless you are going to do a sales job. Because of this, I am going to writing more about careers and jobs because it is all that is on my mind.

Oh and before anyone mentions speculative applications to me, I did that the other day and the editor told me that she hadn’t even READ my application!

Shocking!

3 thoughts on “Careers Update: Part Time Work & Why There Are No Journalism Jobs

  1. Aulelia,

    Congrats on the new job! Don’t stress about the journalism job it will happen for you. I’m positive! đŸ™‚

  2. Firstly great site:) There are many jobs in journalism, however it is also a good idea to look at starting your own business perhaps as a freelancer.

Leave a Reply

