Careers: Cleaning Jobs & Speculative Applications


The job situation in LDN is very bad. This time last year, I walked right into a part-time job in Bristol. Now, I am struggling even to get cleaning jobs. I am eager to get a part-time job so I can fund this MA project of mine. The domain name needs to be renewed in July so I need money to do that, not to mention paying off my overdraft etc.

I have compiled some numbers of people to call in regards to the cleaning jobs so I am keeping fingers crossed about hopefully getting through and landing an interview. Please keep your fingers x’d for me.

Speculative Job Applications: On the journalism front, while I am madly in love with the idea of being an entrepreneur-publisher, I know that I need to get a journalism job (again) in order to fund the website and keep food in my belly. I wrote another speculative application yesterday for a magazine that looks deathly boring but I need to get a job.

I am trying my best to remain focused. I know I need to stay ridiculously focused and on target if I am ever going to get this website off the ground and make it work in the long term.

It is difficult to stay focused when I am trying to lose weight, pitching magazine feature articles to magazines, find a temp job, find a journalism job and get the MA project up and running but I know I need to try.

Do you have any tips to try and stay focused? What do you do when you know you have bare shit to do?

Leave a Reply

