The Thought of Working 4 Someone Else…


It’s been a while, Charcoalies.

I have been thinking a lot about the future, mostly concentrating on my career. I was talking to a friend of mine this week about careers and I told her what I dream about every day: working on my MA website fulltime after university.

The thought of working for someone else after Oct 2009 is something I know I have to do to earn ends meet and pay off my credit card. Having said that, the simple thought of writing job applications for another company at this moment chills me blood freezing.

But again, I know I have to do it.

But my dream lies in being an online publisher. That’s what I want to do and with my MA project, I am making those steps. I am making money cold calls, sending cold emails to people, trying to get anyone to speak to me. I am finding it very difficult and just got rejected today for an interview request with a PR entrepreneur under the premise that they are ‘too busy’.

I was disappointed because I am trying. But I know I have to be resilient if I want to be my own boss.

I will be chronicling more of my MA project trials and tribulations on the blog. It’s the only outlet I have as I don’t want to bombard my mum with 10 emails a day.

Do you have any entrepreneurial dreams? What are your career dreams? Please tell me.

3 thoughts on “The Thought of Working 4 Someone Else…

  1. Best of luck to you. I’m at a crossroads right now so i can’t be of much help, but I wish you the best as you walk on this journey.

  2. You can do this Aulelia. If working for yourself is your goal, keep envisioning it. Don’t put limits on yourself by thinking you have to work for other people. You might be surprised by what comes up. Maybe your mom can help you by also picturing a positive outcome for you. I will send you positive vibes here from the U.S…..

    • @Aisha: Thank you for the advice. I am feeling better about this. I keep banging on about it but now I am writing the Running in Heels series on my attempts to get that going.

Leave a Reply

