Dangerous Love: 1 in 7 Believe Women Should Be…


I have been watching a BBC3 programme called Dangerous Love. It follows ex-Miss Great Britain Danielle Lloyd talk about domestic violence against young women. So far, (I haven’t finished watching it yet), it is disheartening to see young women have their self-esteem constructed within a male framework. It’s great to be in love with a man who wants you for you. A man who wants you to achieve your absolute your dreams. A man who wants to love you and take care of you.

Not someone who will knock you about like you are a punching bag.

Hitting a woman is cowardly. Not only wrong and disgusting, it is just the sign of a weak, cowardly person. Acc to the Times, 1 in 7 people believe that women should be hit for wearing provocative clothing in public.

It is so frustrating to think some people still think like this. In no circumstances is it ”right” for a man to hit a woman. In no circumstances is it ”right” for a woman to be raped either. I cannot believe that some people think that a woman’s clothes really affect whether she deserves to be raped. No woman deserves to be raped.

It’s clear to be that society worldwide sees women as cheap and disposable pieces of copper 1p coins, that can be thrown away. Women are not 1p coins. Flesh and blood human beings with feelings. No woman deserves to have her body disrespected by any man.

I am definitely not anti-male. I want to be with a great and thoughtful man eventually. I am against the men who try and destroy the well being and health of women. After all, who brings men into this world? No prizes for the answer.

6 thoughts on “Dangerous Love: 1 in 7 Believe Women Should Be…

  1. That is soooo disheartening, the media would be crawling all over it and screaming with rage if this information was from the middle east and they would present it in such an islamophobic way, but since this horrible attitude resides in a community that is christian, it is ignored.

    We all need to wake up and educate not only our young girls but our young boys too. Education is the best way to innoculate people against this evil.

    I do not think any form of domestic violence is acceptable, against men , women or children!

    God i am so scared for the next generation, they see all this knife crime and gun crime and that becomes normal, and if they grow up around people who think rape of women can be justified and that violence against them is permissable , i can only shake my head. (and cry, maybe pray for them)

  2. I think what Danielle Lloyd has done is remarkable she is a young model who has lots of young fans all of whom would never in a million years have guessed that she was a victim of Domestic Violence. I say a great big thank you to Danielle for highlighting this, it must not have been easy for her to do this documentary. I watched it and I must admit I was in tears and her poor parents having to “have a feeling” that something was happening but not being able to do anything as she did not tell them. Of course Danielle will have people saying well you take your clothes off for a living so you deserve it or you provoke them but I say If a prostitute say’s no and her client demands sex it is rape l00% rape so why should girls be beaten or verbally abused for wearing provocative clothes? Not only that If the dinner is to cold or to hot do you deserve the dinner and plate smashed over your head? what about if you kiss a male colleague on the side of his cheek as a welcome when meeting do you deserve to be punched or kicked? and finally if you go to bed after a hard days work either in the home looking after the kids all day and cleaning up or working in a shop/office all day and your partner forces you to have sex that night is that Rape? yes it is. Well done Danielle I must admit I didn’t really like you but you have certainly changed my opinion on you, lets hope the government now act and teach the kids to know the warning signs.

  3. You and me are on the same page here.

    Anyway, I think that as long as there will be women who think that if a woman get beat down, it’s sure because she provoked the man; as long as there will be women who think that if a woman got raped, it’s because of her choice of clothes…then, our society will stay sexist.
    Women need to be unite first and work the misogynists within our own “woman community” before we can successfully change the males that don’t give respect to women.
    And judging from what I read on BWB during the whole Rihanna/Chris Brown mess and even from what I see and hear from young girls in some French ghettos ( teenage girls blaming fellow teenage girls that have been gang-banged or sexually harassed because they dared to wear skirts or dresses rather than opting for a tomboyish look), I think we have a very very very very very long way to go.

    • @kimi, I completely agree. It is never a woman’s fault to get her face bashed in. I can hardly believe people are trying to use Rihanna’s ethnicity, ie being from the West Indies, as a reason for the fight. I wish people would get a grip and see, it was NOT her fault and nor is it any woman’s fault.

  4. Beat me because of what I wear in public? Ha! I don’t want my other half even looking at me cross eyed if they don’t approve, much else lay a hand on me.

    We are not children to be beaten into submission…

    • @Alix, But this is the thing, I think the sexist patriarchal society we will live in all around the world makes us think that we are children who deserve to be beaten into submission.

Leave a comment