Blog Fancies


Some people have fleeting moments with blogs. Some people are only interested in blogs when they are given top 100 rankings in magazine. However, the blacklogosphere is unique in that pretty much most of the blogs are amazing, regardless of whether mainstream media cares or not.

I am astounded at how brilliant some of the blogs I am reading at the moment are. Not astounded like wow, blogs are really great but more astounded and full of respect for keeping a successful blog that captures readers and actually makes a great point.

I’m not talking about gossip blogs du jour but more about blogs about certain issues and even personal blogs. My blog fancies for a while now are Invisible Woman and The Jose Vilson.

Invisible Woman - what can I say ? This is a blog that ticks all the boxes. Firstly, IW updates regurlarly (yay number 1). Secondly, the content is a mix of light pieces such as Terrence Watch, which focuses on Mr Howard latest and deconstructing the state of Black Hollywood as seen here. I thoroughly enjoying reading her and if you are interested in reading about film & black people in film, especially the industry, her blog is fabulous.

The Jose Vilson - I do not remember how I stumbled upon this blog but I am glad I did. It is a breath of fresh air. It is so complex, intricate and extremely intelligent with musings on politics and general society. Love love this blog. I think it is much better than other blogs like say nah right which just post a youtube video with no commentary. This is digital commentary at its best.

It is fair to say that African-American domaintes the blacklogosphere. However, these 2 blogs are some of the only African-American blog that seem to encourage a diaspora outlook. So as a non-African American, being a Tanzanian girl, I feel like I can add a comment and join in.

Where would all be without blogs ? I shudder to think ;) 

6 thoughts on “Blog Fancies

  1. @Brigitte, thank you! yours is fab too. by the way, did you receive the jourdan dunn scans from the sunday times style magazine ? i have them. if you would like me to send them to you, don’t hesitate.

  2. Blogs definitely fill a void for me. The print publishing industry doesn’t care enough about black women to put out a magazine worth subscribing to — I’m very thankful for blogs like yours and others out there.

  3. Thank you sooo very much my BBBB sistagal! (Beautiful British Black Babe) haha :-)

    I admire you so very much; it is wonderful to know the feeling is mutual :-)

  4. I also love Soulbounce because I’m obsessed with music. They cover music from all over the world. My new love is Tawiah, a South London young lady w/a ridiculously fab voice and a great album.

    http://soulbounce.com/soul/

    Next up is The People Could Fly Project which chronicles the lives of a group of young African-American girls as they explore the diaspora via dance, music, poetry and travel.

    http://thepeoplecouldfly.blogspot.com/

    I also love Lesley Ann Brown, a Black woman via Brooklyn, NY and Trinindad living in Copenhagen. I read her blog daily. She is a brilliant writer and a wonderful soul.

    http://theblackgirlssurvivalguide.blogspot.com/

    http://blackgirlonmars.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

